# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform

#### **Assembly Bill 779**

Relating to: designation of a corporation to receive funding for electronic health information exchange, creation of a corporation, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Richards, Dexter, Pasch, Berceau, Turner, Molepske Jr., Vruwink, Suder, Seidel, Benedict, Grigsby, Shilling, Pocan, Stone and Rhoades; cosponsored by Senators Kreitlow, Vinehout, Lehman, Risser, Lassa, Taylor, Plale, Darling and Wirch.

February 25, 2010 Referred to Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform.

#### March 3, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict,

Shilling, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and

Nygren.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

#### Appearances For

- Jon Richards Representative, 19th Assembly District
- Karen Timberlake Secretary, Department of Health Services
- Jo Musser, Verona Wisconsin Health Information Organization
- Joe Kachelski, Madison Wisconsin Hospital Association

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### **Registrations For**

- Nate Elias, Marshfield Marshfield Clinic
- Lisa Maroney, Madison UW Health
- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Jeremy Levin Rural Wisconsin Health Cooperative
- Tom Petri Wisconsin Primary Health Care Association

### Registrations Against

• Thomas Preusker, Burlington

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## March 24, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Richards, Benedict, Shilling,

Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber,

Vukmir, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Absent: (2) Representatives Roys and Rhoades.

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Pasch that **Assembly Bill 779** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Richards, Benedict, Shilling,

Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber,

Vukmir, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Roys and Rhoades.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Jeff Kostelic Committee Clerk