Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 734

Relating to: the creation of a Fox Cities regional transit authority.

By Representatives Bernard Schaber, Nelson, Hintz, Barca, Berceau, Black, Smith and Turner; cosponsored by Senator Ellis.

February 11, 2010 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

March 11, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt, Vruwink,

Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki,

Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone, Bies and Ripp.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Michael Ellis Sen., 18th Senate District
- Penny Bernard Schaber Rep., 57th Assembly District
- Tim Hanna Maoyr, City of Appleton
- Eric Fowle East Central RPC
- Jason Kakatasch Fox Valley Advocacy Coalition
- Deborah Wetter, Appleton Valley Transit
- George Dearborn Valley Transit and Town of Menasha
- Joe Martin City of Appleton
- Michael Potter, Appleton
- John Mielke Appleton Area School District Board of Education
- Don Ferber, Madison

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Liz Wesol Green Concierge Travel
- Jeff Smith Rep., 93rd Assembly District
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Shahla Werner Sierra Club

- Gary Goyke, Madison Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Ed Huck Wisconsin Alliance of Cities
- Anita Gulotta-Connelly Wisconsin Urban and Rural Transit Association
- Amber Meyer Smith, Madison Clean Wisconsin
- John Hendrick Coalition of Wisconsin Aging Groups
- Bruce Speight WISPIRG

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 8, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt, Vruwink,

Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki,

Petrowski, A. Ott, Bies and Ripp.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

Moved by Representative Bernard Schaber, seconded by Representative Garthwaite that **Assembly Bill 734** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt,

Vruwink, Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard

Schaber and A. Ott.

Noes: (4) Representatives Sinicki, Petrowski, Bies and

Ripp.

Absent: (1) Representative Stone.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 4

Erin Pollocoff Committee Clerk