# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Urban and Local Affairs**

#### **Assembly Bill 721**

Relating to: public, educational, and governmental access channel requirements for video service providers and interim cable operators.

By Representatives Hebl, Smith, Molepske Jr., Hubler, Berceau, Kessler, Pope-Roberts, Schneider, Black, Garthwaite, Van Akkeren, Hilgenberg, Sherman, Bies, Roys, Hintz, Vruwink, A. Williams, and Sinicki; co-sponsored by Senators Vinehout, Robson, Miller, and Risser.

February 11, 2010 Referred to Committee on Urban and Local Affairs.

#### February 24, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Hintz, Roys, LeMahieu, Gottlieb, and Spanbauer.

Absent: (2) Representatives Van Akkeren and Parisi.

### Appearances For

- Gary Hebl, Sun Prairie Representative, 46th Assembly District
- Bridgit Blackman, Milwaukee Mills Christian Academy
- Mary Cardona, Madison WI Association of PEG Channels
- Brad Clark, Madison Madison City Channel
- Joel Desprez, Eau Claire Chippewa Valley Community Television
- Mick Givens, Sarona City of Rice Lake and WI Association of PEG Channels
- John Hendrick, Madison Coalition of WI Aging Groups
- Pat Hladilek, West Allis Women's Club of West Allis
- Ed Huck, Madison WI Alliance of Cities
- John Jordan, Stevens Point City of Wausau Public Access
- Andrea Kaminski, Madison League of Women Voters
- Luciano , Madison WYOU Community Access Television
- Rick Richards, Madison WYOU Community Access Television
- Mary Shanahan Spanic, Milwaukee West Allis Community Media Center
- Marcia Standiford, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Pam Steitz, Sun Prairie Sun Prairie Cable Access
- Darren Stucker, Fitchburg self
- Vel Wiley, Milwaukee MATA Community Media
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities

## **Appearances Against**

- Tom Moore, Madison WI Cable Communications Association
- Thad Nation, Milwaukee Wired Wisconsin
- Tim Vowell, Sun Prairie Charter Communications

## **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

## Registrations For

- Mary Hubler, Rice Lake Representative, 75th Assembly District
- Fred Risser, Madison Senator, 26th Senate District
- Mary Bean, Madison self
- Barbara Bolan, Madison WYOU Community Access Television
- Lazarus Burns, Milwaukee Mills Christian Academy
- Patrick Cannon, Sun Prairie Dane County Cities and Villages Association
- Connie Darling, Fitchburg Director, Fitchburg Access Community Television
- Barry Fagin, Milwaukee MATA Community Media
- Lindsey Giese, Madison Sun Prairie Cable Access
- Dave Grooman, Sullivan Jefferson Community TV
- Andrew Hagen, Monona self
- Jennifer Hilgendorf, Madison self
- Lucien Jung, Greendale self
- Michelle Kasar, West Allis West Allis Community Media Center and Viewer's Voice
- Jodi Lane, Brown Deer West Allis Community Media Center
- Chris Lang, Oregon self
- Doulas May, Madison self
- Craig Mueller, Wauwatosa West Allis Community Media Center
- Barry Orton, Madison self
- Rachel Packard, Sun Prairie Sun Prairie Cable Access
- Adriana Purdy, Milwaukee Mills Christian Academy
- Joseph Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Lisa Rembert, Milwaukee self
- Sharon Rhode, West Allis West Allis Community Media Center and Viewer's Voice
- Dan Rossmiller, Madison WI Association of School Boards
- Robert Sanders, Milwaukee MATA Community Media
- Beverly Speer, Madison WI Democracy Campaign
- Peter Steitz, Sun Prairie self
- Rachel Strach Nelson, Madison City of Madison
- Cameron Thompson, Sun Prairie Sun Prairie Cable Access
- James Van Vonderen, Milwaukee MATA Community Media
- Barbara Vedder, Madison WYOU Community Access Television

- Alyce Weiss, West Allis Women's Club of West Allis
- Brenda Wood, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee

# Registrations Against

- Phil Montgomery, Green Bay Representative, 4th Assembly District
- Jeff Plale, South Milwaukee Senator, 7th Senate District
- Buddy Julius, Madison AT&T

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### March 23, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Hintz, Parisi, LeMahieu, Gottlieb, and Spanbauer.

Absent: (2) Representatives Van Akkeren and Roys.

Moved by Representative Berceau that **Assembly Bill 721** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Berceau, Hintz, Parisi and Spanbauer.

Noes: (3) Representatives Ziegelbauer, LeMahieu and Gottlieb.

Absent: (2) Representatives Van Akkeren and Roys.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 3

Traci Peloquin Committee Clerk