# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

# **Assembly Bill 696**

Relating to: authority of the Public Service Commission over certain telecommunications utilities, telecommunications access charges, universal service fund contributions based on interconnected voice over Internet protocol service, tandem switching provider electronic call records, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Representative Zepnick; cosponsored by Senator Plale.

February 01, 2010 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

# February 9, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Soletski, Zepnick, Richards, Steinbrink, Parisi, Zigmunt, Huebsch,

Montgomery, Honadel, Petersen and Zipperer.

Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.

# Appearances For

- Josh Zepnick, Milwaukee Rep., 9th Assembly District
- Jeff Plale, South Milwaukee Sen., 7th Senate District
- Tom Still, Madison Wis Technology Council
- David Ward, Sturgeon Bay WI Technology Council
- Scott Vander Sanden, Oregon ATT
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Hance Haney, Alexandria, VA Discovery Institute
- Jennifer Denewellis, Columbus ATT
- Tom Kiffer, Sun Prairie ATT
- Thad NAtion, Milwaukee Wired WI
- Tom Giovanetti, Lewisville, TX Institute for Policy Innocation
- Jason Carl, West Bend ATT
- Mark Mohr, Sun Prairie ATT

#### Appearances Against

- Paul Fuglie, Lansing, MI Verizon
- Lorenzo Cruz, Madison CenturyLink
- Kira Loehr, Madison Wisconsin Calls
- Charlie Higley, Madison Citizens Utility Board
- Mark Frey, Sauk City CWA

- Ann McNeary, Sun Prairie CWA
- Rob Boelk, Mayville CWA 5622

# **Appearances for Information Only**

- Gary Evenson, Madison PSC
- Tom Moore, Madison WI Cable Communication Association
- Mike McDermott, Schaumburg, IL Verizon Wireless
- Bill Esbeck, Madison WSTA
- Ray Riordan, Nsight Teleservices Monona
- Chet Gerlach, Madison Sprint
- Patrick Fucik, Madison Sprint
- Michael Theis, Madison Theis Communications Consulting

# Registrations For

- Dextra Hadnot, Milwaukee ATT
- Tama Weber, Oak Creek ATT
- Matt McBriarty, Oak Creek ATT
- Matthew Dinnauer, Oconomowoc ATT
- Lisa Schulte, Hartland ATT
- Debora Meixner, Burlington ATT
- Vicki Scott, McFarland ATT
- William Faulkner, Wales ATT
- Randy Udell, Fitchburg ATT
- Larry Baeder, McFarland att
- Erica Hoch, Cudahy AT&T
- Kristen Cogswell, Middleton ATT
- Brian Shafe, Hudson ATT
- Tricia Conway, Mt. Pleasant ATT
- Michael Klasen, Brookfield ATT
- Scott Jansen, Hartland ATT
- Dennis Sisfoo, Hartland ATT
- Julie Tonkoritz, Waukesha ATT
- Michael Passino, Waukesha ATT

### Registrations Against

- Gary Hebl, Sun Praiire Rep., 46th Assembly District
- Bill Smith, Madison NFIB
- Brandon Scholz, Madison Wisconsin Grocers Assn
- Mary Cardona, Madison Self
- Barry Orton, Madison Self
- Terry Russell, Cottage Grove CWA 4630

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### March 30, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Soletski, Zepnick, Staskunas, Richards, Steinbrink, Parisi, Zigmunt, Huebsch, Montgomery, Honadel, Petersen and Zipperer.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Richards, seconded by Representative Huebsch that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Soletski, Zepnick, Staskunas, Richards, Steinbrink, Parisi, Zigmunt, Huebsch, Montgomery, Honadel, Petersen and Zipperer.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Richards, seconded by Representative Huebsch that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Soletski, Zepnick, Staskunas, Richards, Steinbrink, Parisi, Zigmunt, Huebsch, Montgomery, Honadel, Petersen and Zipperer.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Richards, seconded by Representative Zepnick that **Assembly Bill 696** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Soletski, Zepnick, Staskunas, Richards, Steinbrink, Parisi, Zigmunt, Huebsch, Montgomery, Honadel, Petersen and Zipperer.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Steven Peters Committee Clerk