Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform

Assembly Bill 653

Relating to: prescriptions for antimicrobial drugs for treatment of chlamydial infections, gonorrhea, or trichomoniasis.

By Representatives Pasch, Roys, Grigsby, Turner, Berceau, Hebl, Benedict, Seidel, Kessler, Bernard Schaber, Hilgenberg, Sinicki and Young; cosponsored by Senators Robson, Lehman, Taylor, Miller, Lassa and Risser.

January 14, 2010 Referred to Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform.

January 20, 2010 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(13)	Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict,
		Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard
		Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota
		and Nygren.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Sandy Pasch Representative, Assembly District 22
- Craig Roberts, Madison University Health Services
- Sheldon Wasserman Dr., Medical Examining Board
- Linda Willsey, Madison Community Pharmacy
- Paul Hunter, Milwaukee Dr., City of Milwaukee Health Department
- Thomas Schlenker, Madison Dr., Public Health Madison Dane County
- Rachel Currans-Sheehan, Madison Wisconsin Deptartment of Health Services
- Jim Vergeront, Madison Dr., Wisconsin Department of Health Services
- Bill Keeton, Milwaukee AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin

Appearances Against

- Tom Engles Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin
- Maria Wopat, Madison

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Judy Robson Senator, 15th Senate District
- Casey Schumann, Madison Wisconsin Department of Health Services
- Marisa Stanley, Madison Department of Health Services
- Chris Rasch, Madison Wisconsin Medical Society
- Chris Taylor, Madison Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin
- Lisa Subeck, Madison NARAL Pro-Choice Wisconsin

Registrations Against

• Julaine Appling, Madison — Wisconsin Family Action

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 3, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(12)	Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict,
		Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard
		Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone and Nygren.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Strachota.

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Pasch that **Assembly Bill 653** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (8) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch and Bernard Schaber.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone and Nygren.
- Absent: (1) Representative Strachota.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Jeff Kostelic Committee Clerk