Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Corrections and the Courts

Assembly Bill 634

Relating to: collective bargaining and protective occupation participant status under the Wisconsin Retirement System and a county retirement system for county jail employees, county employees of a juvenile detention facility, and state employees who are employed at state correctional institutions, juvenile correctional facilities, the mental health institutes at Mendota and Winnebago, the Wisconsin Resource Center, and secure mental health units or facilities for sexually violent persons.

By Representatives Parisi, Black, Danou, Turner, Berceau, Mason, Milroy and Pope-Roberts; cosponsored by Senators Hansen, Erpenbach, Vinehout and Leibham.

December 22, 2009 Referred to Committee on Corrections and the Courts.

January 7, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(9)	Representatives Parisi, Benedict, Seidel, Pope-
		Roberts, Zigmunt, Gundrum, Kestell,
		LeMahieu and Brooks.
Absent:	(3)	Representatives Kessler, Pasch and Van Roy.

Appearances For

- Joe Parisi, Madison Representative
- Rick Badger AFSCME Council 40
- Jim Palmer, Madison WI Professional Police Assoc.
- Marty Beil, Madison WI State Employees Union
- David Jesko, Fox Lake
- Dave VandenNoven, Evansville Local 2489 AFSCME Correction Officer Advisory Committee
- Michael Goetz, Verona AFSCME Council 40
- Roy Kluss, Sheboygan Sheboygan County
- Jeff Johnson, Wausau AFSCME

Appearances Against

• John Reinemann, Madison — WI Counties Assoc.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Byron Wirth AFSCME Council 40
- Justin Hellmer, Plymouth

- Andrew Jones, Fitchburg AFSCME
- Christa Peters, Madison AFT
- Fern Springs AFT
- Robert McLinn, Waupun AFSCME
- Susan McMurray AFSCME
- Joanne Ricca, Milwaukee WI State AFL-CIO
- Michael Moore, Madison WEAC
- Mike Walsh, Madison WEAC
- Jeff Wiswell, Madison WI Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association

Registrations Against

- Mark Wadium, Appleton Outagamie County
- Dave Krahn, Waukesha Waukesha County

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 22, 2010 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Lori Whitmore Committee Clerk