Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform

Assembly Bill 553

Relating to: creating new grounds for discipline of hearing instrument specialists, audiologists, and speech-language pathologists, changing licensing requirements for audiologists, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Zepnick, Turner, A. Ott, Newcomer, Townsend, Danou and Kerkman; cosponsored by Senators Lehman, Taylor, Olsen and Kedzie.

November 05, 2009 Referred to Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform.

January 20, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Josh Zepnick Representative, 9th Assembly District
- Laura Feldhake, Stoughton Wisconsin Speech Language and Audiology Association
- Tamera Gumz, Wisconsin Rapids
- Amy Hartman, Cross Plains
- Kate Rosicky, Lake Mills
- Jane Sebzda, Brookfield Dr.
- Okie Allen, Eau Claire Hearing and Speech Examining Board
- Michael Thelen, Nennah Audiology and Hearing Services

Appearances Against

- James Ogurek, Wausau
- Todd Beyer, Marshfield International Hearing Society
- Steve Klapperich, Sheboygan Beltone Hearing Care
- Scott Lau, Eau Claire Valley Hearing, Inc

Appearances for Information Only

• Thomas Pipp, Madison

Registrations For

• Nathan Berg, Milwaukee

- Jon Berg, Madison
- Meredy Hase, Waukesha Dr., Hearing Services Limited
- Dana Gladd, Madison
- Caitlyn Ryan, Madison
- Kim Smuda, Oregon
- Robert Nelles, Madison
- Nicholas Liimatta, Madison
- Katherine Hoffarth, Madison
- Krista Lett, Madison
- Claire Thorleifson, Madison
- Cheryl Bonert, Ripon Dr.
- Christine Zenger, Evansville Wiscoinsin Alliance of **Hearing Professionals**

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 17, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Present: (13)Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota

and Nygren.

None. Absent: (0)

Moved by Representative Bernard Schaber, seconded by Representative Seidel that Assembly Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

> (13) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Ayes: Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Seidel, seconded by Representative Bernard Schaber that Assembly Bill 553 be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0 $\,$

Jeff Kostelic Committee Clerk