Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 533

Relating to: using the results of standardized examinations to evaluate teachers and requiring the development of a teacher evaluation plan to be a mandatory subject of collective bargaining.

By Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, Sinicki and Hixson.

October 29, 2009 Referred to Committee on Education.

November 2, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (10) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick, Davis, Nass,

Townsend, Nygren.

Absent: (3) Representatives Dexter, Radcliffe and Vukmir.

Appearances For

- Michael Morgan, Madison Secretary, Department of Administration
- Tim Casper, Madison Department of Administration
- Tony Evers, Madison State Superintendent, Department of Public Instruction
- Mary Bell, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council

Appearances Against

• Sheri Krause, Madison — Wisconsin Association of School Boards

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Leigh Roberts, Madison Wisconsin Retired Educators Association
- Lena Taylor, Milwaukee Senator, 4th Senate District

Registrations Against

• John Forester, Madison — School Administrators Alliance

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 3, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, (12)

Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick,

Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend and Nygren.

Representative Vukmir. Absent: (1)

Moved by Representative Dexter, seconded by Representative Smith that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for rejection.

> (8) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, Ayes: Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick and Radcliffe.

> (4) Representatives Davis, Nass, Townsend and Noes: Nygren.

Absent: (1) Representative Vukmir.

REJECTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Dexter, seconded by Representative Hixson that **Assembly Bill 533** be recommended for passage.

> (7) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, Ayes: Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith and Krusick.

> Noes: (5) Representatives Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend and Nygren.

Absent: (1) Representative Vukmir.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 5

Tom McCarthy Committee Clerk