## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Education**

### Assembly Bill 520

Relating to: participation in interscholastic athletics and application of the public records and open meetings laws to interscholastic athletic associations.

By Representatives Staskunas, Pope-Roberts, Mason, A. Ott, Zepnick, Montgomery, Zigmunt and Clark; cosponsored by Senators Lehman, Coggs, Sullivan and Erpenbach.

October 27, 2009	Referred to Committee on Education.		
January 12, 2010	PUBLIC HEARING HELD		
	Present:	(13)	Representatives Pope- Hilgenberg, Sinicki, H

```
    Present: (13) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,
Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick,
Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and
Nygren.
    Absent: (0) None.
```

Appearances For

- Tony Staskunas, West Allis Representative, 15th Assembly District
- Paul Murphy, West Allis
- Peter Fox, Madison Wisconsin Newspaper Association
- Robert Dreps, Madison Wisconsin Newspaper Association
- Adam Wickersham, Milwaukee

## Appearances Against

- Doug Chickering, Stevens Point WIAA
- Andrew Cook, Stevens Point WIAA
- Dave Anderson, Stevens Point WIAA
- Barry Mano, Racine National Association of Sports
   Officials
- Tom Mueller, Oregon Badger Conference
- Jamie Nutter, Fennimore Fennimore District Administrator

## Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Jim Ercer, Menomonee Falls

- Pete Christianson, Madison Wisconsin Newspaper Association
- Robert Welch WI Broadcasters Association

**Registrations Against** 

- Dan Rossmiller, Madison WI Association of School Boards
- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance

### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

#### March 23, 2010 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present:	(12)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,
		Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick,
		Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Vukmir and Nygren.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Townsend.

Moved by Representative Dexter, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Bill 520** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(6)	Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,
		Sinicki, Hixson, Krusick and Nass.
Noes:	(6)	Representatives Hilgenberg, Smith,
		Radcliffe, Davis, Vukmir and Nygren.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Townsend.

#### PASSAGE NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 6

April 22, 2010 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Tom McCarthy Committee Clerk