Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 509

Relating to: exempting certain capital expenditures made by a technical college district from the requirement for a referendum.

By Representatives Shilling, Danou, Huebsch, Hixson, Soletski, Nerison, Mason, Brooks, Toles, Molepske Jr. and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Taylor, Vinehout and Kreitlow.

October 20, 2009	Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities.		
October 21, 2009	PUBLIC HEARING HELD		
	Present: (11) Representatives Hixson, Black, Cullen, Soletski, Hintz, Berceau, Nass, Rhoades, Townsond, Cottlich and Pallwag		
	Absent:(1)Townsend, Gottlieb and Ballweg.Absent:(1)Representative Smith.		
	 <u>Appearances For</u> Jennifer Shilling, La Crosse — State Representative, Wisconsin State Assembly (D-La Crosse) Lee Rasch, La Crosse — President, Western Technical College Michael Pieper, La Crosse — Western Technical College Morna Foy, Madison — Wisconsin Technical College System Board Steve McCombs, La Crosse — Western Technical College Lynnetta Kopp, La Crosse — Town of Shelby Mike Gargaro, Onalaska Mike Huebsch, West Salem Dan Kapanke, La Crosse — Wisconsin State Senate Bradley Konkel, La Crosse Tara Johnson, La Crosse Richard Granchalek, Holmen — La Crosse Chamber of Commerce Mike Giase Onalaska 		

- Mike Giese, Onalaska City of Onalaska
- Joan Mueller, La Crosse

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Kim Valiquette, Holmjen
- Mary Wolf, La Crosse
- Mark Thorn, West Salem
- Lore Vang, La Crosse
- Tom Rhorer, La Crosse
- Deb Johnson, La Crosse
- Marrih Wanders, La Crosse
- Michelle Wanders, La Crosse 142 South 14th Street
- Raeanna Johnson, La Crosse
- Susan Schock, La Crosse
- Ardie Hall Schock, La Crosse
- Steve Kopp, La Crosse School District of La Crosse
- Diane Holmay, La Crosse Franciscan Skemp Healthcare
- Tina Wehrs, West Salem
- Jennifer Kudever, Onalaska La Crosse Area Dev Corp
- Joe Heim, La Crosse UW-La Crosse
- Ann Fisher, Onalaska
- James Hill, La Crosse La Crosse Area Development Corp
- Rep. Lee Nerison Wisconsin State Assembly
- Noel Joran, Onalaska
- Robert Jordan, La Crosse
- Paul Gabriel, Madison Wisconsin Technical College District Boards
- Kevin Buelow, La Crosse
- Joe Knuse, La Crosse
- Anthony Slaby, Onalaska

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 28, 2009 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present:	(12)	Representatives Hixson, Smith, Black, Cullen,
		Soletski, Hintz, Berceau, Nass, Rhoades,
		Townsend, Gottlieb and Ballweg.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Black, seconded by Representative Berceau that **Assembly Bill 509** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Representatives Hixson, Smith, Black, Cullen, Soletski, Hintz, Berceau, Nass and Townsend.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Rhoades, Gottlieb and Ballweg.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

John J. Vander Meer Committee Clerk