Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation, Tourism, Forestry, and Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 496

Relating to: prohibiting electronic text messaging while driving and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Barca, Turner, Bernard Schaber, Zigmunt, Steinbrink, A. Ott, Clark, Sinicki, Bies, Pasch, Hilgenberg, Petrowski, Hixson, Hintz, Radcliffe, Kerkman, Benedict, Mason, Gunderson, Black, Hebl, Brooks, Cullen, Berceau, Hubler, Lothian, Krusick, Van Roy, Van Akkeren and Toles; cosponsored by Senators Lehman, A. Lasee, Hansen, Olsen, Carpenter, Harsdorf, Cowles, Taylor, Darling and Schultz.

January 22, 2010 Referred to Committee on Transportation, Tourism, Forestry, and Natural Resources.

February 11, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (6) Senators Holperin, Sullivan, Hansen, Leibham,

Kedzie and Grothman.

Absent: (1) Senator Plale.

Appearances For

• John Lehman — 21st Senate District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Ryan Zukowski, Green Bay WI Troopers Association
- Amy Boyer, Madison Wisconsin Association of Convention & Visitor Bureaus
- Alan Lasee 1st Senate District
- Tony Driessen AAA Wisconsin

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 1, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Holperin, Sullivan, Plale, Hansen,

Leibham, Kedzie and Grothman.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Sullivan, seconded by Senator Hansen that **Assembly Bill 496** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (3) Senators Holperin, Sullivan and Hansen.

Noes: (3) Senators Plale, Leibham and Kedzie.

Absent: (1) Senator Grothman.

CONCURRENCE NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 3

Elizabeth Novak Committee Clerk