# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Transportation**

## **Assembly Bill 496**

Relating to: prohibiting electronic text messaging while driving and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Barca, Turner, Bernard Schaber, Zigmunt, Steinbrink, A. Ott, Clark, Sinicki, Bies, Pasch, Hilgenberg, Petrowski, Hixson, Hintz, Radcliffe, Kerkman, Benedict, Mason, Gunderson, Black, Hebl, Brooks, Cullen, Berceau, Hubler, Lothian, Krusick, Van Roy, Van Akkeren and Toles; cosponsored by Senators Lehman, A. Lasee, Hansen, Olsen, Carpenter, Harsdorf, Cowles, Taylor, Darling and Schultz.

October 15, 2009 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

October 22, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

> Present: Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt, Vruwink, (11)Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki,

Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone and Ripp.

Absent: Representative Bies. (1)

### Appearances For

- Peter Barca Rep., 64th Assembly District
- Daniel Lonsdorf Major, Wisconsin DOT
- Don Nelson UW Madison
- Kristin Radtke Officer, UW Madison University Police

### Appearances Against

• None.

# Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### Registrations For

- Penny Bernard Schaber Rep., 57th Assembly District
- Tim Carpenter Senator, 3rd Senate District
- Alan Lasee Sen. , 1st Senate District
- John Lehman Sen., 21st Senate District
- Lena Taylor, Milwaukee Sen., 4th Senate District
- Bob Turner Rep., 61st Assembly District
- John Grabel AFSCME
- Tony Driessen, Madison AAA
- Casey Perry Wisconsin Troopers Association

## Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

## October 29, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt, Vruwink,

Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki,

Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone, Bies and Ripp.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Stone, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt,

Vruwink, Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki, Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone,

Bies and Ripp.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative A. Ott, seconded by Representative Zigmunt that **Assembly Bill 496** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt,

Vruwink, Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki, Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone,

Bies and Ripp.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Erin Pollocoff Committee Clerk