Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Jobs, the Economy and Small Business

Assembly Bill 426

Relating to: authorizing the designation of a tax incremental district as distressed and expanding the use of donor tax incremental districts.

By Representatives Molepske Jr., Ripp, Radcliffe, Davis, Staskunas, Brooks, Townsend, Soletski, Clark, Zepnick, Hintz and Petersen; cosponsored by Senators Sullivan, Schultz, Holperin, Kreitlow and Taylor.

September 23, 2009 Referred to Committee on Jobs, the Economy and Small Business.

October 13, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Molepske Jr., Bernard Schaber, Fields, Hintz, Barca, Krusick, Benedict, Toles, Zipperer, Friske, Van Roy, M. Williams and Strachota.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Louis Molepske Rep., Wisconsin State Assembly
- Roger Herried Mr., Village of Necedah, WI
- Curt Witynski Mr., League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Michael Harrigan Mr., Ehlers & Assoc. and WI Economic Development Assoc
- John Mehan Mr., Robert W. Baird & Co.
- Mike Semman Mr., Wisconsin Bankers Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Michael Clark Mr., Village of Warrens, WI
- Jim Sullivan Sen., Wisconsin State Senate
- Ed Huck Mr., Wisconsin alliance of Cities
- Amy Boyer Ms., Wisconsin Economic Development Assoc.
- Tom Larson Mr., Wisconsin Realtors Assoc.
- Christine Korjenek Ms., NAIOP, Commercial Real Estate Development Assoc

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 15, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: Representatives Molepske Jr., Fields, Hintz, (12)

Barca, Krusick, Benedict, Toles, Zipperer,

Friske, Van Roy, M. Williams and Strachota.

Representative Bernard Schaber. Absent: (1)

Assembly amendment LRBa0881 introduced by unanimous consent of the committee.

Moved by Representative Barca, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (12) Representatives Molepske Jr., Fields, Hintz,

Barca, Krusick, Benedict, Toles, Zipperer,

Friske, Van Roy, M. Williams and Strachota.

(0) None. Noes:

Absent: (1) Representative Bernard Schaber.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Fields, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Assembly Bill 426** be recommended for passage as amended.

> Ayes: (12) Representatives Molepske Jr., Fields, Hintz, Barca, Krusick, Benedict, Toles, Zipperer,

Friske, Van Roy, M. Williams and Strachota.

(0) None. Noes:

Absent: (1) Representative Bernard Schaber.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Kathy Farnsworth Committee Clerk