Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor

Assembly Bill 41

Relating to: a state minimum wage, permitting the enactment of local living wage ordinances, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Mason, Sinicki, Grigsby, Black, Zepnick, Pope-Roberts, A. Williams, Turner, Milroy, Pocan, Kessler, Berceau, Hilgenberg, Colon, Soletski, Sherman, Shilling, Benedict, Toles, Garthwaite, Krusick, Young and Pasch; cosponsored by Senators Decker, Hansen, Wirch, Kreitlow, Taylor, Carpenter, Coggs, Lehman, Plale, Miller, Erpenbach, Sullivan and Vinehout.

February 12, 2009 Referred to Committee on Labor.

March 24, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Sinicki, Jorgensen, Parisi, Toles, Soletski, Honadel, Nass and Knodl.

Absent: (1) Representative Van Akkeren.

Appearances For

- Cory Mason Rep, 62 AD
- John Huebscher, Madison
- Scott Specter, Madison AFT Wisconsin
- Susan McMurray, Madison AFSCME

Appearances Against

- Bill Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Businesses
- James Buchen, Madison WMC
- Ed Lump, Madison Main Street Coalition for Economic Growth
- Trisha Pugal, Brookfield Wisconsin Innkeepers Association
- Jeff Maurer, Madison 703 University Ave
- Ed Lump, Madison WI Restaraunt Associaton
- Tony Huppert, Spring Valley
- Delora Newton, Madison Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jodi Farrington, Madison SEIU
- Bob Wirch 22nd CD
- Mark Reihl, Madison WI State Council of Carpenters
- Sabrina Gentile, Madison Wiconsin Council on Children and Families
- Joe Strohl, Madison Professional Firefighters of Wisconsin
- David Boetcher, Waunakee IBEW WI State Conference
- Tim Elverman, Milwaukee Milwaukee Area Technical College
- Jeff Mehrhoff, Sun Prarie Painters and Allied Trades District Council 7
- Tim Elverman, Milwaukee Plumber Local 75
- Bethany Ordaz, Madison SEIU
- Tim Deneen, Madison United Tranportation Union
- Deb Sybell WEAC
- Patrick Hickey, Madison Workers' Rights Center
- Sam Gallo, Milwaukee Workers United
- Alesher Glenn, Milwaukee SEIU
- Bradley Schwards, Oak Creek
- Phil Neuenfeldt, Milwaukee WI State AFL-CIO

Registrations Against

- Kathy Kilgore, Madison WI Assn of Campground Owners
- Amy Boyer WI Assoc. of Convention & Visitors Bureaus
- Michelle Kussow, Madison Wisconsin Grocers Association
- Kevin Little, Madison Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Pam Christenson, Madison WI Peroleum Marketers & Convinience Stores
- Mindy Walker, Madison Alliance of WI Retailers
- Mindy Walker, Madison Tevern League
- Jason Johns, Madison National Association of Theatre Owners of WI & Upper Michigan
- Chet Gerlach, Madison Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 22, 2010 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Ezekiel Dasho Committee Clerk