Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs and Homeland Security

Assembly Bill 36

Relating to: liability of the state for a violation of the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, Fair Labor Standards Act, or Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 or of Title I of the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

By Representatives Mason, Grigsby, Van Akkeren, Pope-Roberts, Hixson, Cullen, Benedict, Pasch, Berceau, Molepske Jr., Pocan, Roys, Soletski, Black, Schneider, Young and Turner; cosponsored by Senators Taylor, Risser, Robson, Lehman, Coggs and Vinehout.

February 12, 2009 Referred to Committee on State Affairs and Homeland Security.

March 24, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Kessler, Young, Pope-Roberts, Roys, Black, Ballweg, Kleefisch and Knodl.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Corey Mason, Racine Rep., 62nd Assembly District
- John Greene, Edgerton AARP
- Carol Weidel, Madison American Federation of Teachers -Wisconsin
- Alicia Boehme, Madison Disability Rights Wisconsin

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jennifer Baier, Beaver Dam AARP
- Richard Braun, Jefferson AARP
- Judy Brown, Jefferson AARP
- Jim Flaherty, MAdison AARP
- John George, Madison AARP
- Gary Goyke, Madison Wisconsin Council of the Blind and Visually Impaired
- Carol Greene, Edgerton AARP
- Stacy Harbaugh, Madison ACLU of Wisconsin

- Steve Porter, Madison Individual Rights and Responsibilities Section, Wisconsin State Bar
- Joe Strohl, Madison Wisconsin Association for Justice
- Rob Wilkinson, Janesville AARP

Registrations Against

• Cindy Polzin — Wisconsin DOJ

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 24, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Kessler, Young, Pope-Roberts,

Roys, Black, Ballweg, Kleefisch and Knodl.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Black, seconded by Representative Pope-Roberts that **Assembly Bill 36** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Kessler, Young, Pope-Roberts, Roys and Black.

Noes: (3) Representatives Ballweg, Kleefisch and

Knodl.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Andy Hinkel Committee Clerk