Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 358

Relating to: indoor environmental quality in public and private schools.

By Representatives Grigsby, Pope-Roberts, Cullen, Hilgenberg, Black, Benedict, Fields, Berceau, Mason, Toles, Hintz, Molepske Jr., Zepnick, Hebl, Pocan, Parisi, Milroy, Roys and Hixson; cosponsored by Senators Sullivan, Olsen, Miller, Hansen, Vinehout, Lassa, Taylor, Darling, Erpenbach, Schultz, Risser and Lehman.

July 31, 2009 Referred to Committee on Education.

September 8, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (13) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,
Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick,
Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and
Nygren.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Tamara Grigsby, Milwaukee Representative, 18th Assembly District
- Jeanne Black, Darlington
- Gerry Roethel, Westby Coulee Region United Educators
- Rita Ruiz, Darlington
- Jacalyn Vandenberg, West Bend Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Joe Ray, Janesville

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Department of Public Instruction
- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance
- Jim Sullivan, Wauwatosa Senator, 5th Senate District
- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards

- Deb Sybell, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Nick Casales, Darlington
- Joe Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Matt Kussow, Madison Wisconsin Council on Religious and Independent Schools

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 20, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,
Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick,
Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and
Nygren.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Dexter, seconded by Representative Hilgenberg that **Assembly Bill 358** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick and Radcliffe.

Noes: (5) Representatives Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and Nygren.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 5

Tom McCarthy Committee Clerk