Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Urban and Local Affairs

Assembly Bill 349

Relating to: limiting the searchability of a governmental Internet listing of property taxes assessed.

By Representatives Parisi, Turner, Roys, Pasch, Fields, Zigmunt, Benedict, Schneider, Berceau, Dexter, Seidel, Toles, Hraychuck and Jorgensen; cosponsored by Senators Erpenbach and Taylor.

July 24, 2009 Referred to Committee on Urban and Local Affairs.

August 25, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (7) Representatives Berceau, Van Akkeren, Hintz, Parisi, LeMahieu, Gottlieb and Spanbauer.

Absent: (1) Representative Ziegelbauer.

Appearances For

- Joe Parisi, Madison Representative, 48th Assembly District
- Tony Gibart, Madison WI Coalition Against Domestic Violence - WCADV and WI Coalition Against Sexual Assault - WCASA

Appearances Against

- Bill Lueders, Madison WI Freedom of Information Council
- Denise Giebel, Mauston Treasurer, Juneau County
- Peter Fox, Madison Executive Director, WI Newspaper Association
- Daniel Dilberti, Milwaukee Treasurer, Milwaukee County
- Scott Galetka, Washburn Bayfield County

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

- David Callender, Madison WI Counties Association
- Mark Hanson, Madison
- Sherri Hawkins, Monroe Treasurer, Green County and WI County Treasurers Association - WCTA

- Bette Krueger, Montello WI Register of Deeds Association
 WRDA
- Tom Larson, Madison WI Realtors Association
- Randy Leyes, Janesville WI Register of Deeds Association WRDA
- Rose Ottum, Independence Register of Deeds, Trempealeau County and WI Register of Deeds Association WRDA
- Mike Romportl, Rhinelander Land Information Director, Oneida County
- Leone Seaman, Berlin WI Register of Deeds Association
- Robyn Thake, Hayward Land Records Director, Sawyer County
- Cindy Wisenski, Stevens Point Register of Deeds, Portage County, WI Register of Deeds Association - WRDA, and WI Electronic Recording Council

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 22, 2010 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Traci Peloquin Committee Clerk