Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 341

Relating to: driving a motor vehicle while using a cellular telephone or other wireless telecommunications device and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Pasch, Danou, Staskunas, Townsend, Roys, Berceau, Honadel, Steinbrink, Pope-Roberts, Brooks and Sinicki; cosponsored by Senators Lehman, Darling, Harsdorf, Carpenter, Olsen, Risser and Hansen.

July 08, 2009 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

September 10, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(10)	Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt, Vruwink,
		Garthwaite, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki,
		Petrowski, A. Ott, Bies, Ripp.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Fields and Stone.

Appearances For

• Sandy Pasch — Rep., 22nd Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Monica Groves Batiza American Family Insurance
- Andy Franken, Madison Wisconsin Insurance Alliance
- Misha Lee, Stevens Point Sentry Insurance
- Tony Staskunas Rep., 15th Assembly District
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Mark Wadjum, Appleton Outagamie County
- Tony Driessen, Madison AAA

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 8, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (10) Representatives Steinbrink, Vruwink, Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki, Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone, Bies.
Absent: (2) Representatives Zigmunt and Ripp.

Moved by Representative Sinicki, seconded by Representative A. Ott that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(10)	Representatives Steinbrink, Vruwink,
		Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki,
		Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone, Bies.
Noes:	(0)	None.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Zigmunt and Ripp.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sinicki, seconded by Representative A. Ott that **Assembly Bill 341** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(10)) Representatives Steinbrink, Vruwink,
		Garthwaite, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki,
		Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone, Bies.
	(

- Noes: (0) None.
- Absent: (2) Representatives Zigmunt and Ripp.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Erin Pollocoff Committee Clerk