# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Natural Resources**

#### **Assembly Bill 3**

Relating to: restrictions on the use and sale of fertilizer containing phosphorus and other turf fertilizer and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Black, Bies, Jorgensen, Roys, Tauchen, Clark, Hebl, Hraychuck, Mursau, Parisi, Berceau, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Knodl, Benedict, Dexter, Hilgenberg, Wood, Hintz, Mason, Molepske Jr., Van Roy, Hixson, Richards, Sherman, Smith, Hubler, Soletski, Pasch, Ballweg, Lothian and Spanbauer; cosponsored by Senators Miller, Cowles, Holperin, Kreitlow, Lehman, Hansen, A. Lasee, Jauch, Hopper, Risser, Sullivan, Wirch, Olsen, Erpenbach and Lassa.

January 16, 2009 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

## January 28, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (14) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Hraychuck, Hebl, Mason, Milroy, Clark, J. Ott, Huebsch, LeMahieu, Mursau and Nerison.

## Absent: (1) Representative Gunderson.

## Appearances For

- Senator Mark Miller, Monona
- Representative Spencer Black, Madison
- Brett Hulsey, Madison Dane County
- Tami Jackson, Madison Wisconsin Association of Lakes
- Julian Zelazny, Madison WI Land and Water Conservation Association
- Paul Dearlove, Cambridge Lake Ripley Management District
- Bob Miller, Monona Yahara Lakes Association
- James Gronowski, Iron Ridge Lake Sinnissippi Improvement District
- Ruth Johnson, Juneau Lake Sinnissippi Improvement District
- Representative Garey Bies, Sister Bay
- Dan Kohler, Madison Wisconsin Environment
- Ed Huck, Madison Wisconsin Alliance of Cities
- Roger Bannerman, Madison
- William Schuster, Sturgeon Bay

- Jeffrey Thornton, Waukesha
- John Molinaro, Cambridge Lake Ripley Management District
- Don Hammes, Middleton Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Chris Wible, Marysville, OH Scotts Company
- Stephanie Pizzoferrato, Marysville, OH Scotts Company
- Jamie Saul, Madison Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Richard Wedepohl, Madison
- Doug Johnson, Evansville Midwest Hardware Association
- Shahla Werner, Madison Sierra Club
- Amber Meyer Smith, Madison Clean Wisconsin
- Ken Wiesner, Madison High-Fishtrap-Rush Lakes Association
- Lori Grant, Madison River Alliance of Wisconsin

## Appearances Against

• Stephen Boston, Janesville — Blain Supply

## Appearances for Information Only

- Richard Lathrop, Madison DNR
- John Nortman, Beaver Dam
- John Weiss, Waunakee
- George Klaetsch, Madison Wisconsin Agribusiness Council
- Scott Manley, Madison WMC
- Kathy Pielsticker, Madison Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

## Registrations For

- John Alberts, Oconomowoc Lac Du Flambeau & St. Croix Band of Chippewa
- Representative Joan Ballweg, Markesan
- Mickey Beil, Madison Dane County
- Representative Penny Bernard Schaber, Appleton
- Brad Boycks, Madison Wisconsin Builders Association
- Larry Clark, Lake Mills Rock Lake Improvement Association
- Jim Connors, Madison
- Casey Eggleston, Madison Nature Conservancy
- Jennifer Giegerich, Madison WLCV
- Jon Hochkammer, Madison Wisconsin Counties Association
- W. Terry Howard, Madison Vilas County Lakes Association
- Greg Hubbard, Madison Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewage District

- Emily Jenner, Madison
- Representative Cory Mason, Racine
- Representative Nick Milroy, Superior
- William O'Connor, Madison Wisconsin Association of Lakes
- Representative Kelda Helen Roys, Madison Representative
- Milton Strauss, Lake Mills Rock Lake Improvement Association
- Senator Jim Sullivan, Wauwatosa
- Caryl Terrell, Madison

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### February 11, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (15) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Hraychuck, Hebl, Mason, Milroy, Clark, J. Ott, Gunderson, Huebsch, LeMahieu, Mursau and Nerison.
Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Gunderson, seconded by Representative Molepske Jr. that **Assembly Amendment LRBa0039/1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:(14) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr.,<br/>Steinbrink, Hraychuck, Mason, Milroy,<br/>Clark, J. Ott, Gunderson, Huebsch,<br/>LeMahieu, Mursau and Nerison.Noes:(1) Representative Hebl.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA0039/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Gunderson, seconded by Representative Huebsch that **Assembly Amendment LRB a0036/1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Representatives Steinbrink, J. Ott, Gunderson, Huebsch, LeMahieu, Mursau and Nerison. Noes: (8) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr., Hraychuck, Hebl, Mason, Milroy and Clark.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB A0036/1 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Black, seconded by Representative Hebl that **Assembly Bill 3** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (15) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Hraychuck, Hebl, Mason, Milroy, Clark, J. Ott, Gunderson, Huebsch, LeMahieu, Mursau and Nerison.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

John R. Maycroft Committee Clerk