Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 281

Relating to: the restriction on the amount of phosphorus in certain cleaning agents. By Representatives Black, Bies, Roys, Parisi, Danou, Pope-Roberts, Berceau, Hilgenberg, Mason, Milroy, Benedict and Smith; cosponsored by Senators Miller, Taylor and Lehman.

May 27, 2009 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

June 3, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Hraychuck, Hebl, Mason, Milroy, Clark, J. Ott, Gunderson, Huebsch, LeMahieu, Mursau and Nerison.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Spencer Black, Madison 77th Assembly District
- Tami Jackson, Madison Wisconsin Association of Lakes
- Dennis Griesing, Washington Soap & Detergent Association
- Kevin Shafer, Milwaukee Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District
- George Meyer, Madison Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Dick Lamers, Colfax Tainter Menomin Lake Improvement Association
- Tressie Kamp, Madison Midwest Environmental Advocates
- Julie Baldwin, Madison MEG Wastewater
- Amber Meyer Smith, Madison Clean Wisconsin

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Dan Kohler, Madison Wisconsin Environment
- Jennifer Giegerich, Madison WLCV
- Lori Grant, Madison River Alliance of Wisconsin

- John Reindl, Madison
- Andrea Kaminski, Madison League of Women Voters of Wisconsin Education Fund

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 10, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Hebl, Mason, Milroy, Clark, J. Ott,

Gunderson, Huebsch, LeMahieu, Mursau and

Nerison.

Absent: (1) Representative Hraychuck.

Moved by Representative Black, seconded by Representative Hebl that **Assembly Bill 281** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Hebl, Mason, Milroy, Clark, J. Ott, Gunderson, Huebsch, LeMahieu, Mursau

and Nerison.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Hraychuck.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

John Maycroft Committee Clerk