# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Natural Resources**

### **Assembly Bill 278**

Relating to: the sale, disposal, collection, and recycling of electronic devices, granting rule-making authority, making an appropriation, and providing penalties.

By Representatives Bernard Schaber, Benedict, Berceau, Black, Clark, Dexter, Hebl, Hilgenberg, Hintz, Hubler, Kaufert, Mason, Milroy, Molepske Jr., A. Ott, Parisi, Pasch, Pope-Roberts, Richards, Roys, Seidel, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Smith, A. Williams, Grigsby and Pocan; cosponsored by Senators Miller, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Hansen, Lehman, Risser, Robson, Lassa, Taylor and Vinehout.

May 19, 2009 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

June 3, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (15) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Hraychuck, Hebl, Mason, Milroy, Clark, J. Ott, Gunderson, Huebsch, LeMahieu,

Mursau and Nerison.

Absent: (0) None.

# Appearances For

- Rep. Penny Bernard Schaber, Appleton 57th Assembly District
- Sen. Mark Miller, Monona 16th Senate District
- Amber Meyer Smith, Madison Clean Wisconsin
- Suzanne Bangert, Madison DNR
- Cynthia Moore, Madison DNR
- Toral Jha, Madison Associated Recyclers of Wisconsin
- John Reindl, Madison Council on Recycling
- Dan Kohler, Madison Wisconsin Environment
- Rick Meyers, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- John Welch, Madison Dane County Solid Waste & Recycling Commission

### **Appearances Against**

 Valerie Rickman, Washington — Information Technology Industry Council

## Appearances for Information Only

• Forbes McIntosh, Madison — Apple Computer

 Tom Springer, Verona — Information Technology Industry Council

#### Registrations For

- Monica Groves Batiza, Madison Wisconsin Counties Association
- Lynn Morgan, Milwaukee Waste Management Recycle America
- Jason Johns, Madison National Solid Wastes Management Association
- Jennifer Gonda, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- Jim Connors, Madison Sierra Club
- Jennifer Giegerich, Madison WLCV
- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance
- Dave Krahn, Waukesha Waukesha County
- Mickey Beil, Madison Dane County
- Andrea Kaminski, Madison League of Women Voters of Wisconsin Education Fund
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Wisconsin Municipalities

## Registrations Against

• Ed Longanecker, Oakbrook Terrace — TechAmerica

### Registrations for Information Only

 Sheri Krause, Madison — Wisconsin Association of School Boards

### June 10, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Black, Danou, Molepske Jr., Steinbrink, Hebl, Mason, Milroy, Clark, J. Ott, Gunderson, Huebsch, LeMahieu, Mursau and Nerison.

Absent: (1) Representative Hraychuck.

April 22, 2010 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

John Maycroft Committee Clerk