Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice

Assembly Bill 269

Relating to: causing injury to a law enforcement officer while resisting or obstructing an officer or while attempting to flee and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Danou, Milroy, Brooks, Kerkman, Bies, Sinicki, Kaufert, Jorgensen, Townsend, Zigmunt, Smith, Berceau, Soletski, Hraychuck, Pasch, Zepnick, Dexter, Clark and Spanbauer; cosponsored by Senators Sullivan, Kreitlow, Plale, Carpenter, Kapanke and Schultz.

May 19, 2009 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice.

August 20, 2009

PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(10)	Representatives Turner, Kessler, Staskunas,
		Hraychuck, Pasch, Kleefisch, Friske, Kramer,
		Brooks, Ripp.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Soletski.

Appearances For

- Chris Danou, Madison State Representative
- Jim Sullivan, Madison State Senator
- Paul Miller, Eau Claire Eau Claire Police Department
- Dale Gerbig, LaCrosse La Crosse Police Department
- Mark O'Brien, Rice Lake Rice Lake Police Department
- Dale Veto, Marshall
- Daniel McClusKey, Onalaska Onalaska Police Department
- Jim Palmer, Madison WI Professional Police Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeff Wiswell, Madison WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- J.B. Van Hollen, Madison Attorney General, WI Department of Justice
- David Mahoney, Madison Sheriff, Dane County Sheriff
- Susan Krause, Madison WI Professional Police Association

- Alice O'Connor, Madison WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Thomas Fischer, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 1, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (10) Representatives Turner, Kessler, Staskunas, Hraychuck, Soletski, Pasch, Kleefisch, Friske, Kramer, Brooks.
Absent: (1) Representative Ripp.

Moved by Representative Kleefisch, seconded by Representative Staskunas that **Assembly Bill 269** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Turner, Kessler, Staskunas,
-		Hraychuck, Soletski, Kleefisch, Friske,
		Kramer and Brooks.
ЪT	(1)	

- Noes: (1) Representative Pasch.
- Absent: (1) Representative Ripp.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 1

Nancy McAdams Committee Clerk