# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Transportation**

## Assembly Bill 242

Relating to: the removal of nonconforming outdoor advertising signs.

By Representatives Staskunas, Fields, Friske, Gunderson, Honadel, Smith, Soletski, Spanbauer, Van Roy, Vos and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Kreitlow, Taylor, Grothman, Hansen, Kapanke, Leibham, Olsen and Plale.

April 30, 2009 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

September 10, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(10)	Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt, Vruwink,
		Garthwaite, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki,
		Petrowski, A. Ott, Bies, Ripp.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Fields and Stone.

## Appearances For

- Tony Staskunas Rep., 15th Assembly District
- Janet Swandby, Madison Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Brad Yarmack, Milton Lamar Outdoor
- Keith Carson, LaCrosse Collins Outdoor Advertising
- Don Snyder, Green Bay Next Media
- Jane Sweasy, Algoma JAG Outdoor Advertising
- Jason Saari, Madison Adams Outdoor Advertising

Appearances Against

- David Vieth, Madison Wisconsin Department of Transportation
- Lowell Klessig, Amherst Jct Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Vernie Smith, Viroqua Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Shirley Brabender Mattox, Oshkosh Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeff Plale Sen., 6th Senate District
- Kurt Weis, Oak Creek Lamar Advertising of Milwaukee

- Mark Rausch, Pewaukee Clear Channel Outdoor
- Eric Jensen, Madison Wisconsin Beer Distributors Association
- Kathi Kilgore, Madison Wisconsin Association of Campground Owners
- Rich Reinhart, Marshfield Lamar Advertising
- Scott Petlewski, Delafield
- Michelle Kussow, Madison Wisconsin Grocers Association
- Trisha Pugal, Brookfield Wisconsin Innkeepers Association
- Douglas Johnson, Stevens Point Midwest Hardware Association
- Pam Christenson, Madison Wisconsin Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association
- Julia Hertl, Sun Prairie Wisconsin Association of Convention and Visitors Bureaus
- Pete Hanson, Madison Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Bill Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Business
- Romy Snyder, Wisconsin Dells Wisconsin Dells Visitor and Convention Bureau
- Dave Storey, Madison Wisconsin Retail Council
- Mary Ann Gerrard, Madison Wisconsin auto and Truck Dealers Association
- Chet Gerlach, Madison Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions

### **Registrations Against**

• Gary Goyke, Madison — Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### December 3, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Steinbrink, Zigmunt, Vruwink, Fields, Bernard Schaber, Sinicki, Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone, Bies and Ripp.
Absent: (1) Representative Garthwaite.

Moved by Representative Zigmunt, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Bill 242** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Zigmunt, Vruwink, Fields, Sinicki, Petrowski, A. Ott, Stone, Bies and Ripp.

- Noes: (2) Representatives Steinbrink and Bernard Schaber.
- Absent: (1) Representative Garthwaite.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 2

Erin Pollocoff Committee Clerk