# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Renewable Energy and Rural Affairs**

### Assembly Bill 239

Relating to: limiting a city's and village's use of direct annexation and authorizing limited town challenges to an annexation.

By Representatives Jorgensen, Clark, Danou, Hilgenberg, Bies, Brooks, Gunderson, Kerkman, LeMahieu, A. Ott, Petersen, Ripp, Roth, Townsend and Vos; cosponsored by Senators Holperin, A. Lasee and Schultz.

April 30, 2009 Referred to Committee on Renewable Energy and Rural Affairs.

### May 21, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(15)	Representatives Jorgensen, Hilgenberg,
		Radcliffe, Garthwaite, Smith, Dexter, Danou,
		Vruwink, Wood, Tauchen, Petrowski, Lothian,
		Ballweg, Davis and Ripp.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Tim McCumber, Merrimac Town of Merrimac
- Jim Erdman, Oshkosh Town of Oshkosh
- Jerry Derr, Columbus Wisconsin Towns Association
- Chester Dietzen, Appleton Wisconsin Towns Association/ Town of Harrison
- Jolene Plautz, Madison Wisconsin Towns Association
- Greg David, Watertown
- Terrence McMahon, Union Grove Wisconsin Towns Association
- Richard Gimler, Watertown Town of Watertown
- Ed Bielinski, Watertown Town of Watertown
- Duane Merritt, Fairchild Town of Fairchild
- Matthew Fleming, Madison Town of Windsor
- Richard Grant, Merrimac Town of Merrimac
- Ann Jablonski, Shawno Wisconsin Towns Association

Appearances Against

• Curt Witynski, Madison — League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

**Registrations For** 

- Jim Holperin State Senator
- John Gaedke, Merrimac
- John Kuzniewicz, Beaver Dam Town of Beaver Dam
- Richard Nawrock, Hartland Town of Merton

#### **Registrations Against**

- Pat Stevens, Madison Wisconsin Builders Association
- B. Joe Murray, Madison Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Ed Huck, Madison Wisconsin Alliance of Cities

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

### October 22, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(14)	Representatives Jorgensen, Hilgenberg,
		Radcliffe, Garthwaite, Smith, Dexter, Danou,
		Vruwink, Tauchen, Petrowski, Lothian,
		Ballweg, Davis and Ripp.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Wood.

Moved by Representative Smith, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(12)	Representatives Jorgensen, Hilgenberg,
		Garthwaite, Smith, Dexter, Danou, Vruwink,
		Petrowski, Lothian, Ballweg, Davis and
		Ripp.
Noes:	(2)	Representatives Radcliffe and Tauchen.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Wood.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Smith, seconded by Representative Vruwink that **Assembly Bill 239** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(13)	Representatives Jorgensen, Hilgenberg,
		Garthwaite, Smith, Dexter, Danou, Vruwink,
		Tauchen, Petrowski, Lothian, Ballweg, Davis
		and Ripp.
NT	(1)	Dennesentation Dedaliffe

Noes: (1) Representative Radcliffe.

Absent: (1) Representative Wood.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Darryl Teske Committee Clerk