Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 236

Relating to: requiring that certain high school agriculture courses be counted as science credits.

By Representatives Radcliffe, Danou, Berceau, Pope-Roberts, Davis, Hilgenberg, Ripp, A. Ott, Nerison, Lothian, Tauchen, Spanbauer, Molepske Jr., Jorgensen, Gunderson, Hixson, Vruwink and Mursau; cosponsored by Senators Vinehout, Taylor, Olsen, Hansen and Kedzie.

April 30, 2009 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

May 14, 2009

PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(10)	Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe,
		Garthwaite, Molepske Jr., Danou, A. Ott,
		Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen, Brooks.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Jorgensen.

Appearances For

• Mark Radcliffe — 92nd Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

Gary Olson — Wisconsin Agriculture Education & Worfkforce
Development Council

Registrations For

- Kathleen Vinehout 31st Senate District
- Casey Langan, Madison Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation
- Shawn Pfaff, Madison Dairy Business Association
- Shawn Pfaff, Madison Wisconsin Cheesemakers Association
- John Mankse, Madison Cooperative Network
- Mike Stranz, Chippewa Falls Wisconsin Farmers Union
- George klaetsch, Madison Wisconsin Agribusiness Council

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 28, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:(11)Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe,
Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou,
A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.Absent:(0)None.

Moved by Representative Radcliffe, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe, Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou, A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.
> Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Nerison that **Assembly Bill 236** be recommended for passage as amended.

 Ayes: (11) Representatives Vruwink, Radcliffe, Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Molepske Jr., Danou, A. Ott, Nerison, Murtha, Tauchen and Brooks.
Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Christian Plata Committee Clerk