Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice

Assembly Bill 221

Relating to: creating a microstamping requirement for certain handguns, certification of compliance with the microstamping requirement, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and providing penalties.

By Representatives Young, Berceau, Turner, Richards, Grigsby, A. Williams, Colon, Kessler, Sinicki and Pasch; cosponsored by Senators Coggs and Taylor.

April 17, 2009 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice.

May 28, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(11)	Representatives Turner, Kessler, Staskunas,
		Hraychuck, Soletski, Pasch, Kleefisch, Friske,
		Kramer, Brooks and Ripp.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Leon Young, Madison State Representative
- Todd Lizotte, Hooksett
- Jacob Corr, Milwaukee Milwaukee District Attorney's Office
- Thomas Fischer, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Association
- Doug Pettit, Oregon WI Chiefs of Police, Dane County Chiefs of Police
- Josh Horwitz, Washington, D.C. Coalition to Stop Gun Violence
- John Hagen, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Department
- William Morales, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee

Appearances Against

- Al Lobner, Milladore WI Bear Hunters Association
- Richard Church, Friendship Campaign for Liberty
- Victoria Konicek Self
- Miles Littlefield, Genoa City Self
- Jordan Austin, Fairfax National Rifle Association
- Jeff Nass, Pulaski WI Firearms Owners, Ranges, Clubs & Educators
- Jake McGuigan, Newtown National Shooting Sports Foundation

- Virginia Foulk, Mazomanie Self
- Jim Fendry, Greendale WI Pro Gun Movement
 - Travis Yates, Madison Self

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Steve Kwaterski, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- Alice O'Connor, Madison WI Chiefs of Police
- Terry Perry, Milwaukee Milwaukee Health Dept., Office of Violence Prevention
- Bob Wierenga, Delavan WI County Police Association
- Mindy Walker, Madison Alliance of WI Retailers
- Jeff Wiswell, Madison WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association

Registrations Against

- William Schmitz, Redgranite Self
- Jordan Halweg, Sun Prairie Self
- Scott Suder, Madison State Representative, 69th Assembly District
- Jeff Geitner, Sun Prairie WI Hunters United
- Greg Kaznierski, Waukesha SCI Chapters WI
- Debra Schmitz, Redgranite Self
- Darrine Harn, Brooklyn Self
- Alita Lobner, Milladore WI Bear Hunters Association
- Holly Olson, Wisconsin Dells Libertarian Party of WI
- Justin Chamberlin, Manitowish Waters Self
- David Brill, New Berlin WI Pro Gun Movement
- Bob Kneeland, Fitchburg Self
- Jim Holperin, Eagle River State Senator
- Glenn Grothman, Madison State Senator

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 22, 2010 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Nancy McAdams Committee Clerk