Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor

Assembly Bill 194

Relating to: administration of certain public assistance programs in Milwaukee County, removing county civil service protections from certain employees, required provisions in certain collective bargaining agreements under the Municipal Employment Relations Act, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Grigsby, Sinicki, Pasch, Fields and Kessler; cosponsored by Senators Taylor, Coggs and Plale.

April 07, 2009 Referred to Committee on Labor.

April 14, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Sinicki, Van Akkeren,
		Jorgensen, Parisi, Toles, Honadel, Nass and
		Knodl.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Soletski.

Appearances For

- Judy Burnick, Germantown
- Tamara Grigsby Rep, 18th District, WI State Assembly
- Karen Timberlake, Madison Secretary, WI Dept of Health Services
- Mark Thomas, Madison Deputy Secretary, WI Dept of Health Services
- Jim Jones, Madison Administrator, WI Dept of Health Services
- Rich Abelson, Milwaukee AFSCME Council 48
- John Grabel, Madison AFSCME

Appearances Against

- Leon Young, Madison Rep, 16th District, WI State Assembly
- Peggy West, Milwaukee County Supervisor, Milwaukee County
- Steve Kreklow, Milwaukee Budget Director, Milwaukee County
- Fred Bau, Milwaukee Milwaukee County Labor Negotiator's Office

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Phil Neuenfeldt, Milwaukee — WI State AFL-CIO

Registrations Against

- John Reinemann, Madison WI Counties Assn
- John Jorgenson, Milwaukee Corporation Counsel, Milwaukee County

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 16, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Sinicki, Van Akkeren,
		Jorgensen, Parisi, Toles, Honadel, Nass and
		Knodl.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Soletski.

Moved by Representative Van Akkeren, seconded by Representative Parisi that **Assembly Bill 194** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(5)	Representatives Sinicki, Van Akkeren,
		Jorgensen, Parisi and Toles.
Noes:	(3)	Representatives Honadel, Nass and Knodl
Absent:	(1)	Representative Soletski.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Mary Beth George Committee Clerk