# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

# **Assembly Bill 140**

Relating to: adopting federal law as it relates to an income tax deduction for certain educators and creating an individual income tax deduction for educators who use their own funds to purchase classroom educational supplies.

By Representatives Hixson, Dexter, Parisi, Milroy, Garthwaite, Pasch, Ziegelbauer, Petrowski, Hraychuck, Richards, Zepnick, Barca, Soletski, Zigmunt, Benedict, Sinicki, Turner, A. Williams, Roys, Cullen, Gunderson, Nass, Townsend, Hilgenberg, Jorgensen, Kleefisch, Pope-Roberts, Vos, Toles, A. Ott, Smith, Bies, Young, Brooks, Kaufert, Steinbrink and Molepske Jr.; cosponsored by Senators Plale, Kreitlow, Taylor, Lehman, Hansen, Risser, Lassa, Wirch, Erpenbach, Hopper, A. Lasee, Darling, Leibham, Schultz, Olsen, Kapanke and Sullivan.

March 09, 2009 Referred to Committee on Education.

# September 8, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (13) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,

Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick, Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and

Nygren.

Absent: (0) None.

### Appearances For

- Kim Hixson, Whitewater Representative, 43rd Assembly District
- Amy Calkins, Edgerton Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Marcia Roberts, Mineral Point Wisconsin Education Association Council

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

None.

# Registrations For

- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Department of Public Instruction
- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance

- Joe Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Deb Sybell, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School **Boards**
- Kim Wadas, Madison Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Matt Kussow, Madison Wisconsin Council on Religious and Independent Schools
- Jeff Plale, South Milwaukee Senator, 7th Senate District

### Registrations Against

• None.

# Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### January 12, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, (13)Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick, Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and

Nygren.

Absent: (0)None.

Moved by Representative Hixson, seconded by Representative Dexter that **Assembly Bill 140** be recommended for passage.

> (12) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, Ayes: Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and Nygren.

Noes: (1) Representative Krusick.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 1

Tom McCarthy Committee Clerk