# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

# **Assembly Bill 116**

Relating to: school conference and activities leave.

By Representatives Black, A. Ott, Smith, Zigmunt, Sinicki, Benedict, Parisi, Pope-Roberts, Pocan, Grigsby, A. Williams, Young, Cullen, Fields, Zepnick, Pasch, Berceau and Soletski; cosponsored by Senators Carpenter, Lassa, Lehman, Plale, Taylor, Erpenbach, Miller and Hansen.

March 04, 2009 Referred to Committee on Education.

May 19, 2009 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (12) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,

Hilgenberg, Hixson, Smith, Krusick, Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and Nygren.

Absent: (1) Representative Sinicki.

# Appearances For

- Spencer Black, Madison Representive
- Rick Grobschmidt, Madison DPI
- Beth Oswald, Milton WEAC
- Rhonda Willette, Milwaukee 9 to 5, National Association of Working Women
- Amy Stear, Milwaukee 9 to 5, National Association of Working Women
- Dana Schultz, Milwaukee 9 to 5, National Association of Working Women
- Jennifer Morales, Milwaukee

### **Appearances Against**

• John Metcalf, Madison — WMC

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Michael Walsh, Madison WEAC
- Deb Sybell, Madison WEAC
- John Huebscher, Madison WI Catholic Conference
- Joseph Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District

- Joanne Ricca, Milwaukee
- Tim Carpenter, Milwaukee Senator
- Jill Gaskell, Madison WI PTA

### Registrations Against

- Michelle Kussow, Madison WI Grocer's Association
- Bill Smith, Madison National Federation of Independent Business

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## September 8, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter,

Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith, Krusick, Radcliffe, Davis, Nass, Townsend, Vukmir and

Nygren.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Dexter, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Bill 116** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Representatives Pope-Roberts, Dexter, Hilgenberg, Sinicki, Hixson, Smith and

Radcliffe.

Noes: (6) Representatives Krusick, Davis, Nass,

Townsend, Vukmir and Nygren.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 6

Tom McCarthy Committee Clerk