Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Joint Resolution 27

Relating to: calling for changes to the state's public school funding formula to be enacted by July 1, 2009.

By Senators Breske, Carpenter, Coggs, Erpenbach, Hansen, Lassa, Lehman, Miller, Plale, Risser, Sullivan, Taylor, Vinehout, Wirch and Ellis; cosponsored by Representatives Pope-Roberts, Sherman, Toles, Benedict, Berceau, Black, Boyle, Colon, Cullen, Fields, Garthwaite, Grigsby, Gronemus, Hebl, Hilgenberg, Hintz, Hixson, Hraychuck, Hubler, Jorgensen, Kessler, Kreuser, Molepske, Nelson, Parisi, Pocan, Richards, Schneider, Seidel, Sheridan, Shilling, Sinicki, Smith, Soletski, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Travis, Turner, Van Akkeren, Vruwink, Wasserman, A. Williams, Young and Zepnick.

March 13, 2007 Referred to Committee on Education.

November 15, 2007 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (7) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Roger Breske, Eland Sen., 12th Senate District
- Sondy Pope-Roberts, Middleton Rep., 79th Assembly District
- Julie Underwood, Madison School Finance Network
- Jennifer Morales, Milwaukee MPS School Board
- Cathryn Atkinson, Waukesha Waukesha Public Schools
- Mallory Massey, Hollandale Pecatonica Area High School
- John Smart, Park Falls Park Falls School Board
- Ruth Page Jones, Waukesha Project ABC Waukesha/Wisconsin Alliance for Excellent Schools
- Nancy Ketchman, Milwaukee MacDowell Montessori School (MPS)/Wisconsin Alliance for Excellent Schools
- Jill Gaskell, Blanchardville
- Ashley From, Florence Florence County School District/Wisconsin Alliance for Excellent Schools
- Katie Malinowski, Florence Florence County School District/WAES
- Dean Ryerson, Port Edwards Port Edwards Public School

- Bonita Basty, Birchwood Birchwood School District
- Jeff Spitzer-Reznick, Madison Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Dan Brereton, Florence Florence County School District/Wisconsin Alliance for Excellent Schools
- Jack Norman, Madison Institute for Wisconsin's Future/WAES
- John Simonson, Platteville
- Roxanne Starks, Milwaukee Milwaukee PTA Council/WAES
- Randy Kunsch, Teacher Phillips School District
- Joyce Behlke, Racine Racine Interfaith Coalition
- Dennis Oulahan, Milwaukee MTEA
- Larry Black, Wisconsin Heights Wisconsin Heights School District
- Ellen Lindgren, Middleton Middleton School Board
- Kathleen Vinehout, Alma Sen., 31st Senate District
- Dwayne Olsen, Racine
- Charlene Hardin, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Juliana Kelly, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Ruby Glover, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Tommie Lee Glen, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Laura Vernon Milwaukee Public Schools
- Wanda Welch, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Joshua Rashik, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Mary Ulandes, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Cathy Olive Milwaukee Public Schools
- Sharon Locke, Racine Racine Interfaith Coalition
- Nancy Holmlund, Racine Racine Interfaith Coalition
- Roger Danielsen, Waukesha
- Ted Voth, Jr., Madison
- Michael Birkley, Madison Wisconsin Property Taxpayers, Inc.
- Brian Dasher West Bend School District
- Doug Mering, Baraboo
- Rose Bowen, Oconto Oconto Unified School District
- Stephen Seyter, Fish Creek Gibralter Area Schools
- Robert Avery, Dane Wisconsin Heights School District
- Susan Biel, Mazomanie Wisconsin Heights School District
- June Weisberger, Madison Dane County League of Women Voters/WAES
- Janet Kane, Middleton League of Women Voters
- Daniel Pryzbyla, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Elizabeth Coggs-Jones, Milwaukee Co. Sup., Wisconsin State PTA

Appearances Against

• Steve Edlund, Waukesha

Appearances for Information Only

- Brian Pahnke, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Tony Evers, Madison Department of Public Instruction

Registrations For

- LaMonte Harris, Milwaukee
- Sharon Redinger, Madison PTO Coalition- Madison
- Laurie Longtine, Waukesha
- Jennifer Gonda, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
- Allison Kaplan, Madison Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association
- Jack O'Meara, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council/Wisconsin Association of School Nurses
- John Eys, Janesville School District of Janesville
- Doug Lueck, Janesville
- Darby Puglielli, Madison
- Joshua Puglielli, Madison
- Jane Elmer, Middleton Wisconsin Retired Educators Association
- Ann Lacy, Madison
- Ronda de Bie, Waukesha
- Amy Gilgenbach, Waukesha
- Marianne Bergs, Waukesha
- Cathy Marschall, Waukesha
- Debra Kucek, Waukesha
- Katherine MacIntyre, Waukesha
- Bruce MacIntyre, Waukesha
- Kara Bassler, Madison
- Shara Bassler Mortensen, Madison
- Rose Sime, Middleton
- Joe Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Monique Monroe, Racine
- John Forester, Madison School District Administrators Alliance
- Andy Dieterich, Hollandale
- Brandon Meut, Blanchardbille
- Thomas Krenz, Blanchardville
- Eli Masion, Blanchardville
- Harley Dember, Blanchardville
- Marsha Hermanson, Blanchardville

- Anthony Fontana, Blanchardville
- Molly Dieterich, Hollandale
- Kyle Kent, Blanchardville
- Elise Sigg, Blanchardville
- Amanda Zanchetti-Mayo, Stoughton
- Brit Kent, Blanchardville
- Justin Masin, Blanchardville
- Heidi Reese, Waukesha
- Lisa Atherton, Waukesha
- Fred Andrist, Elk Mound Northern Tier of Uniserve-WEAC
- Carol Carstensen, Madison
- Dalibor Drummer, South Milwaukee Wisconsin Association for the Talented and Gifted
- Tor Caraway, Arena River Valley
- Edna Pfeiffer, Waukesha
- Lisa Fusco, Waukesha
- Lori Nowak, Waukesha
- Dennis Nowak, Waukesha
- Laura Cameron, Waukesha
- Barbara Toles, Milwaukee Rep., 17th Assembly District
- Lena Taylor, Milwaukee Sen., 4th Senate District
- Scott Spector, Madison AFT-Wisconsin
- Theresa Phillips, Wales
- Kristin Collett, Milwaukee MTEA
- Nanci Schiman Alliance for Strong Mequon-Thiensville Schools
- Kim Suhr, Wales
- Trish O'Neil, Columbus Columbus School District
- Dan Rossmiller, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Mary Jo Schiavoni, Madison ACLU Wisconsin
- Freddi Adelson, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Nurses/WAES
- Tim Duax, Milwaukee

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 13, 2008 Failed to adopt pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Sara Dauscher Committee Clerk