Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 396

Relating to: online courses for elementary and secondary school pupils and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Lehman, Kreitlow and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Pope-Roberts, Sinicki and Turner.

January 17, 2008	Referred to Committee on Education.
------------------	-------------------------------------

January 17, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(7)	Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,
		Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- John Lehman, Racine Sen., 21st Senate District
- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Brian Pahnke, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Sheila Ellefson, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Lucy Brown, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Annette Walaszek, Kewaunee Wisconsin Education Association Council

Appearances Against

- William Harbron, Fredonia Northern Ozaukee School District
- Barb Peterka, Fredonia Northern Ozaukee School District
- Kurt Bergland, Fredonia Northern Ozaukee School District
- Mike Skurek, Fredonia Northern Ozaukee School District
- David Schmidt, Waukesha Waukesha iQ Academy
- Allan Mailloux, Oregon
- Joni Burgin, Grantsburg Grantsburg School District
- Josh Watt, Grantsburg Grantsburg School District
- Billy Busley, Grantsburg Grantsburg School District

- Rose Fernandez, Mukwonago Wisconsin Coalition of Virtual School Families
- Kathy Hennings, Cedarburg Wisconsin Virtual Academy
- Kaye Martin, Cedarburg Wisconsin Virtual Academy
- Jen Trattner, Cedarburg Wisconsin Virtual Academy
- Lee Alliager, Appleton Appleton Area School District
- Nicole Schweitzer, Appleton Appleton Area School District
- Michelle Mueller, Appleton Appleton Area School District
- Linda Dawson, Appleton Appleton Area School District
- Bob Pennewell, Appleton Appleton Area School District
- Connie Radtke, Appleton Appleton Area School District
- Dan Hanrahan, West Bend
- Cory Hirsbrunner, Monroe Monroe School District
- Larry Brown, Monroe Monroe School District
- Ron Olson, Monroe Monroe School District
- Rick Chandler, Madison Wisconsin Coalition of Virtual School Families
- Reba Langhus, Sun Prairie

Appearances for Information Only

- Jerry Fiene, Tomahawk CESA #9 Wisconsin Virtual School
- Dawn Nordine, Tomahawk CESA #9 Wisconsin Virtual School
- Larry Kaseman, Stoughton Wisconsin Parents Association

Registrations For

• Lena Taylor, Milwaukee — Sen., 4th Senate District

Registrations Against

- Jim Morgan, Madison Wisconsin Charter School Association
- Dan LeMahieu, Cascade Rep., 59th Assembly District
- Don Pridemore, Hartford Rep., 99th Assembly District
- Leah Vukmir, Wauwatosa Rep., 14th Assembly District
- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards

Registrations for Information Only

• Richard Halverson, Madison

January 29, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich. Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Olsen, seconded by Senator Kreitlow that **Senate Substitute Amendment** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes:	(7)	Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,
		Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.
Noes:	(0)	None.

INTRODUCTION OF SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Kreitlow, seconded by Senator Olsen that Senate Substitute Amendment lrbs0232 /2 be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(7)	Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,
		Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.
Noes:	(0)	None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRBS0232 /2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Olsen, seconded by Senator Kreitlow that **Senate Bill 396** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(7)	Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,
		Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.
	(0)	

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Sara Dauscher Committee Clerk