### **Senate**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs, Biotechnology and Financial Institutions**

#### Senate Bill 351

Relating to: investments and operations of the State of Wisconsin Investment Board.

By Senators Sullivan, Risser, Wirch, Olsen, Darling, Breske, Roessler, Lassa, Taylor and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Newcomer, A. Ott, Cullen, Vos, Albers, Zepnick, Hahn, Petrowski and Jeskewitz, by request of State of Wisconsin Investment Board.

December 10, 2007 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs, Biotechnology and Financial Institutions.

#### January 10, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(5)	Senators Sullivan, Coggs, Carpenter, Leibham
		and Kanavas.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Arnold Chandler, Madison Wisconsin Retired Educators Association
- Keith Bozarth, Madison SWIB-Executive Director
- Gretchen Wheat, Madison State Engineering Association
- Bob Conlin, Madison ETF

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Joe Strohl, Madison Retired Professional Firefighters
- Jim Palmer, Madison WPPA
- Veronica Burke, Onalaska WEAC-retired
- Edwin Kehl, Madison Investment Board
- David Sanders, Hayward self
- Nancy Reis, Spooner self
- Allen Knop, Madison WEAC-Retired

- Lev De Beck, Hales Corner self
- Clayton Smits, Depere self
- Ellen Blissenbach, Madison Gold Star Wives
- Jim Sentry, La Crosse Wisconsin Investment Board
- MC Howard, Elm Grove Self
- Dianne Lang, Appleton self
- William Mercer, Middleton WREA
- Bob Henning, Wausau Wausau
- Leigh Roberts, Madison Wisconsin Retired Educators Association
- Jame Elmer, Middleton WREA

Registrations Against

• None.

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

#### February 20, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(5)	Senators Sullivan, Coggs, Carpenter, Leibham
		and Kanavas.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator Carpenter, seconded by Senator Leibham that **Senate Bill 351** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (4) Senators Sullivan, Carpenter, Leibham and Kanavas.
- Noes: (1) Senator Coggs.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Matthew Swentkofske Committee Clerk