Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Corrections

Graham, Alfonso, of Brookfield, as Chairman of the Parole Commission, to serve for the term ending March 1, 2007.

January 08, 2007 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Corrections.

April 27, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Vinehout, Lazich

and Grothman.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

• Alfonso Graham, Brookfield — Parole Board Commission

• Shelley Justiliano, Madison — WI DOC Victim Services

• John Balcerzak, Milwaukee — President, Milw Police Association

• Johnnie Smith, Sun Prairie

• Dean Collins, Brookfield

• Terry Sullivan, Madison — WI DOC

Appearances Against

- James Booker, Milwaukee
- Robert Martin, Milwaukee
- Peggy Swan, Bluemound FFVP
- Veronica Stringer, Milwaukee
- Tryave Boettcher
- Linda Greer, MIlwaukee
- Charlene Garrett, Milwaukee
- Sarah Freeman
- Janie Swoopes, Milwaukee
- Frank Van den Bosch, Montfort Prisoners Action Coalition

Appearances for Information Only

- Judy Cooper, Madison
- Kathleen Hart, Greendale WI CURE
- Barbara Jackson, Milwaukee
- Joseph Ellwanger, Milwaukee WISDOM
- Bertha Jones, Milwaukee
- Joann Bauman, Milwaukee Reverend, Miracles Institute

- Julia Bell, Milwaukee
- Johnnie Hall

Registrations For

- John Zapfel, Milwaukee
- Tim Mahone, Milwaukee Governor's Officec
- Pam Waddell, Madison
- Thomas Fisher, Milwaukee
- William Ward, Milwuakee Milwaukee Police Association
- Estella Stewart, Milwaukee

Registrations Against

- Melissa Froiland, Milwaukee
- Thomas Crump, Milwaukee
- Janice Crump, Milwaukee
- Claudia Young, Milwaukee
- Joan Olson, Waukesha Prison Alternative Network
- Ian Austin, Milwaukee
- Hervis Nelson, Milwaukee
- Dwain Olson, Waukesha

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 23, 2007 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Vinehout, Lazich

and Grothman.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Vinehout, seconded by Senator Lazich that **Graham, Alfonso** be recommended for confirmation.

Ayes: (5) Senators Taylor, Sullivan, Vinehout, Lazich

and Grothman.

Noes: (0) None.

CONFIRMATION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Michelle Bryant Committee Clerk