Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Health

Assembly Bill 717

Relating to: fire safety performance standards for cigarettes, making an appropriation, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Hines, Wasserman, Young, A. Ott, Sinicki, Benedict, Berceau, Grigsby and Molepske; cosponsored by Senators Robson, Hansen, Miller, Lehman, Risser, Coggs, Cowles, Roessler and Sullivan.

January 22, 2008 Referred to Committee on Public Health.

January 30, 2008 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Hines, Vukmir, Ballweg, Moulton, Nerison, Benedict, Wasserman,

Schneider and Black.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- J.A. Hines Rep.
- Lori Wirth City of Madison Fire Department
- David Bloom WI State Fire Chiefs Assoc.
- Mahlon Mitchell Wisconsin Alliance for Fire Safety
- Nadine Gratz Office of Sen. Judy Robson

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Judy Robson Senator
- Ed Huck WI Alliance of Cities
- Kelly McDowell Altria/Phillip Morris
- Debra Miller WI Dept. of Commerce
- Dan Gengler WI Fire Protection Coalition
- Joe Strohl Professional Fire Fighters of WI
- Michael Welsh WI Public Health Assoc.
- Michael Welsh WI Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Jeremy Levin, Madison Wisconsin Medical Society

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 13, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Hines, Vukmir, Ballweg,

Moulton, Nerison, Benedict, Wasserman and

Schneider.

Absent: (1) Representative Black.

Moved by Representative Ballweg, seconded by Representative Moulton that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Representatives Hines, Ballweg, Moulton,

Nerison, Benedict, Wasserman and

Schneider.

Noes: (1) Representative Vukmir.

Absent: (1) Representative Black.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Schneider, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Bill 717** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Representatives Hines, Ballweg, Moulton,

Nerison, Benedict, Wasserman and

Schneider.

Noes: (1) Representative Vukmir.

Absent: (1) Representative Black.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Douglas Parrott Committee Clerk