Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Biofuels and Sustainable Energy

Assembly Bill 682

Relating to: the sale of renewable motor vehicle fuels, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Suder, Sheridan, Davis, Gronemus, Zepnick, Hahn, Jorgensen, Albers, Garthwaite, Musser, Smith, Hilgenberg, Hraychuck and Sinicki; cosponsored by Senators Kreitlow, Schultz, Jauch, Harsdorf, Olsen and Vinehout.

January 11, 2008 Referred to Committee on Biofuels and Sustainable Energy.

January 16, 2008 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Hahn, Wood, Albers, Davis, Tauchen, Hubler, Gronemus, Jorgensen and Molepske.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Scott Suder Representative, 69th Assembly District
- Pat Kreitlow Senator, 23rd Senate District
- Randy Romanski Deputy Secretary, DATCP
- Fran Faber Wisconsin Pipe Traders Association
- Ron Lamberty American Coalition for Ethanol
- Dona Wininsky American Lung Association of Wisconsin
- Bob Sather Wisconsin Bio Energy Alliance
- Bob Oleson Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Bio Industry Alliance

Appearances Against

- Scott Manley Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Randy Meffert Meffert Oil Company
- Dan Staebel Hartland Fuel Products
- Matt Hauser Wisconsin Petroleum Marketers & Convenience Store Association
- Erin Roth American Petroleum Institute
- Ryan Schryver Clean Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeff Lyon Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Judy Ziewacz Wisconsin Office of Energy Independence
- Bryan Brooks Wisconsin Bio Industry Alliance
- Josh Zepnick Representative, 9th Assembly District

Registrations Against

- Robert Fassenbender Flint Hills Resources
- Pat Osborne Marathon Oil Company
- Marc Bentley Wisconsin Engine Manufacturers & Distributors Alliance
- Marc Bentley Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association
- Marc Bentley Schneider National

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 27, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Hahn, Wood, Albers, Davis, Tauchen, Hubler, Gronemus, Jorgensen and

Molepske.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Jorgensen, seconded by Representative Hubler that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Hahn, Wood, Albers, Davis, Tauchen, Hubler, Gronemus, Jorgensen and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hubler, seconded by Representative Albers that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Hahn, Wood, Albers, Davis, Tauchen, Hubler, Gronemus, Jorgensen and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hubler, seconded by Representative Albers that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Hahn, Wood, Albers, Davis, Tauchen, Hubler, Gronemus, Jorgensen and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Jorgensen, seconded by Representative Tauchen that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Hahn, Wood, Albers, Davis, Tauchen, Hubler, Gronemus, Jorgensen and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hubler, seconded by Representative Albers that **Assembly Bill 682** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Hahn, Wood, Albers, Davis, Tauchen, Hubler, Gronemus, Jorgensen and Molepske.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Michael Austin Committee Clerk