Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 559

Relating to: an income and franchise tax credit for sales tax paid for the right to purchase season admission to athletic events sponsored by an institution of higher education.

By Representatives Montgomery, Kerkman, Ziegelbauer, Cullen, Stone, Nass, Kaufert, Jeskewitz, Hebl, Fields, Townsend, Musser, Pridemore and Kleefisch; cosponsored by Senators Plale, Sullivan and Roessler.

October 30, 2007 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

November 14, 2007 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (11) Representatives Kerkman, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Hebl, Toles and Kessler.

Absent: (2) Representatives Lothian and Fields.

Appearances For

- Kristin Ruesch, Madison Office of Representative Phil Montgomery
- Megan Strichko, Madison Office of Senator Jeff Plale
- Don Nelson, Madison UW-Madison
- Barry Alvarez, Madison UW-Madison
- Steve Cottingham, Milwaukee Marquette University
- Pete Christianson, Madison self

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Sherrie Gates-Hendrix, Madison — , Department of Revenue

Registrations Against

None

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 14, 2007 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Kerkman, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer,

Steinbrink, Hebl, Toles and Kessler.

Absent: (2) Representatives Lothian and Fields.

Moved by Representative Ziegelbauer, seconded by Representative Jeskewitz that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Kerkman, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Hebl, Toles and Kessler.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Lothian and Fields.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ziegelbauer, seconded by Representative Hebl that **Assembly Bill 559** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Kerkman, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Wood, Pridemore, Strachota, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Hebl, Toles and Kessler.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Lothian and Fields.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Sarah Popp Committee Clerk