# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Criminal Justice**

## **Assembly Bill 544**

Relating to: human trafficking and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Jeskewitz, Kessler, Albers, Berceau, Bies, Black, Gunderson, Hintz, Kerkman, Kestell, Kleefisch, Molepske, Musser, Nelson, A. Ott, Owens, Petrowski, Pocan, Schneider, Seidel, Sheridan, Sinicki, Soletski, Tauchen, Townsend, Turner, Van Roy, Vos, A. Williams, M. Williams, Wood and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Coggs, Grothman, Darling, S. Fitzgerald, Harsdorf, Kapanke, Lassa, Lazich, Lehman, Miller, Olsen, Risser, Robson, Roessler and Schultz.

October 16, 2007 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice.

#### December 5, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Kleefisch, Friske, Albers, Owens, Kramer, Turner, Staskunas and Grigsby.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Vukmir, Kessler and Hraychuck.

## Appearances For

- Sue Jeskewitz State Representative, 24th Assembly District
- Pam Matthews Office of State Representative Sue Jeskewitz
- Margaret Skinner, Madison Representing Herself
- Tim Dewane, Waterford School Sisters of Notre Dame
- Josh Freker, Madison Wisconsin Coalition Against Domestic Violence
- Mike Murray, Madison Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

None

#### **Registrations For**

- Spencer Coggs State Senator, 6th Senate District
- Fred Kessler State Representative, 12th Assembly District

- Josh Zepnick State Representative, 9th Assembly District
- Michael Christman, South Milwaukee Representing Himself
- Barbara Sella, Madison Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Michelle Mettner Association of State Prosecutors
- William Ward, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Association

### Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## January 30, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Kleefisch, Friske, Albers, Owens, Vukmir, Kramer, Turner, Staskunas, Kessler, Hraychuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Grigsby.

Moved by Representative Kessler, seconded by Representative Albers that **Assembly Bill 544** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Kleefisch, Friske, Albers, Owens, Vukmir, Kramer, Turner, Staskunas, Kessler, Hraychuck.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused:(1) Representative Grigsby.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Daniel Lindstedt Committee Clerk

al.C. Watelt