Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Ethics

Assembly Bill 377

Relating to: requiring a hospital to provide to a sexual assault victim information and, upon her request, emergency contraception and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Musser, Pocan, Wood, Kaufert, Richards, Hilgenberg, Hintz, Molepske, Wasserman, Kreuser, Hebl, Soletski, Toles, Benedict, Berceau, Black, Boyle, Grigsby, Hraychuck, Kessler, Parisi, Pope-Roberts, Seidel, Sheridan, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Smith, Travis, Turner, Vruwink, Young and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Robson, Taylor, Miller, Plale, Risser, Erpenbach, Lehman, Wirch, Hansen, Jauch, Carpenter, Kreitlow, Coggs, Lassa and Sullivan.

May 31, 2007 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Ethics.

September 6, 2007 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (8) Representatives Gundrum, Kramer, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Pridemore, Staskunas, Hintz and Kessler.

Absent: (2) Representatives Friske and Turner.

Appearances For

- Terry Musser, Black River Falls State Representative, 92nd Assembly District
- Mark Pocan, Madison State Representative, 78th Assembly District
- Judy Robson, Beloit State Senator, 15th Senate District
- Chris Taylor, Madison Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin
- Carousel Bayrd, Madison
- Amanda Harrington, Madison
- Julie Fagen, Madison NPCW HPRC
- Debbie Donovan Aurora Health Care
- Hope Swanson, Madison NASW WI
- Mike Murray, Madison Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault
- Sarah Finger, Madison Compassionate Care for Rape Victims Coalition
- Linda Gage, Eau Claire
- Keeley Crowley, Manitowoc Sexual Assault Resource Center
- Lon Newman, Wausau WFPRHA

- Cathy Thompson, Janesville Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice
- Sharon Rogalski, Sharon National Organization for Women
- Emilie Rabbitt, Madison United Council of UW Students
- David Gauze, Sharon
- Kelly Anderson, Madison Rape Crisis Center
- Jennifer Helmers, Janesville
- Kelda Boys, Madison NARAL Pro-Choice Wisconsin

Appearances Against

- James Linn, Shorewood Doctor
- Julie Mickelson, Shorewood Doctor, Milwaukee Guild of Catholic Medical Association
- J. Schuh, Westby Doctor
- Kimberly Couri, Wausau Doctor
- Rose Smyth, Custer Doctor
- Randal Wojciehoski, Stevens Point Doctor
- Michael Phillips, Wauwatosa Doctor
- Christopher Kelley, Lisbon
- William Vernon, Cambridge Reverend
- Matt Sande, Cambridge Pro-Life Wisconsin
- Gene Green, Fox Lake Baptists fo Life of Wisconsin
- Judith Brant, Madison Wisconsin Family Action

Appearances for Information Only

- Kim Wadas, Madison Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Matt Bowman Alliance Defense Fund

Registrations For

- J.A. Hines, Oxford State Representative, 42nd Assembly District
- Christine Sinicki, Milwaukee State Representative, 20th Assembly District
- Terese Berceau, Madison State Representative, 76th Assembly District
- Jon Erpenbach, Middleton State Senator, 27th Senate District
- Josh Freker, Madison Wisconsin Coalition Against Domestic Violence
- Cleveland Doxtater, Green Bay American Indians Against Abuse
- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Michael Welsh, Madison Wisconsin Public Health Association

- Mike Harrington, Whitefish Bay
- Marshall Feld, Madison
- Heidi Fields, Madison Planned Parenthood
- Jill Poarch, Middleton Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners
- Leslie Starczewski, Madison
- Emily Langer, Madison NASW
- Joyce Aasen, Madison
- Shirley Haidinger, Madison
- April Scheiner, Madison
- Stacy Harbaugh, Madison ACLU of Wisconsin
- Andrea Kaminski, Madison League of Women Voters
- Marc Hevstand, Madison NASW
- Sondra Le Grand, La Crosse
- Dick Swantz, La Crosse
- Judy Swantz, La Crosse
- Sharon Hampson, La Crosse
- Karen Gunderson, Madison
- Tom Ryan, Madison Medical Examiners Board
- Tammi Kral, Madison
- Kathryn Osborne, Madison American College of Nurse Midwives
- Kathryn Giegel, Middleton
- Stacie Reece, Madison
- Aaron Crandalc, Madison
- Kari Stevens, Madison
- Craig Spaulding, Madison
- Jennifer Olenchek, Milwaukee
- Jennifer O'Melia, Madison
- Sabrina Gentile, Madison Wisconsin Council on Children and Families
- John Giegel, Middleton
- Jodie Tierney, Madison
- Andrea Gage, New Berlin
- Nicole Safar, Madison
- Roberta Allikson, Milwaukee
- JoCasta Zamarriph, Milwaukee PPWI
- Kristin Settle, Milwaukee One Wisconsin Now
- Lauren Hasselbacher, Madison DAIS
- Cynthia Beiler, McFarland National Organization for Women
- Katie Plona, Madison DHFS
- Theodora Christensen, Madison
- Judy Skog, Madison
- Josh Boll, Madison

- Jeanne Bissell, Madison
- Robert Ross, Madison
- Julie Simani, Middleton Madison Birth Center
- Adam Korbitz, Madison State Bar of Wisconsin
- Dale Griffin, Madison
- Jennifer Knack, Madison
- James Allen, Madison Doctor
- Laura Gottlieb, Madison
- Dan Ross, Madison
- Lindsey Moser, Madison
- Kimberly Luke, Madison
- Michelle Michalak, Madison
- Frank Iltis, Madison
- Amy Ihlenfeldt, Madison
- Jenifer Horne, Madison
- Judith Kaufman, Madison
- Richard Russell, Madison
- Kira Wehn, Madison
- Carolyn Ponder, St. Francis
- Chynna Haas, Madison United Council
- Ray Maida, Madison
- Meg Robertson, Monona
- Kathleen Moen, Madison
- Deb Holt, Madison

Registrations Against

- Pam Charles
- Richard Sorensen, Madison
- Greg Wagner, Middleton Pro-Life Wisconsin
- Robin Le Van, Oconomowoc
- Will Goodman, Stevens Point Servants of Our Lady of Guadalupe

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 18, 2007 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (10) Representatives Gundrum, Kramer, Friske,

Kerkman, Kleefisch, Pridemore, Staskunas,

Hintz, Turner, Kessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kleefisch, seconded by Representative Staskunas that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Gundrum, Kramer, Friske, Kerkman, Kleefisch and Pridemore.

Noes: (4) Representatives Staskunas, Hintz, Turner and Kessler.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Kramer, seconded by Representative Pridemore that **Assembly Bill 377** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Gundrum, Kramer, Friske, Kerkman, Kleefisch and Pridemore.

Noes: (4) Representatives Staskunas, Hintz, Turner and Kessler.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 4

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk