## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Rural Economic Development**

### **Assembly Bill 146**

Relating to: creating a committee to study the uses of industrial hemp.

By Representatives Hahn, M. Williams, Boyle, Albers, Ballweg, Berceau, Bies, Gronemus, Gunderson, Molepske, Mursau, Owens, Pocan, Townsend and Wood; cosponsored by Senator Schultz.

March 05, 2007 Referred to Committee on Rural Economic Development.

April 18, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (9) Representatives Mursau, A. Ott, M. Williams, Wood, Murtha, Nelson, Garthwaite, Hilgenberg

and Hixson.

Absent: (0) None.

### Appearances For

- Eugene Hahn, Cambria Representative, 47th Assembly District
- Matthew Atwood, Madison Biodiesel Systems, LLC
- Ralph Brunner, Menomonee Falls Dr. Brunner's Magic Soaps
- Robert Derr, Marshall Derr Farms Inc.
- Jamie Derr, Sun Prairie Great Lakes BioFuels
- Linda Ellen, Baraboo
- Erwin Sholts, Oregon North American Industrial Hemp Association
- Eric Tatera, Green Bay Hempguy.com
- Ben Masel, Madison
- Rich Ray, Madison Hempen Goods

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### **Appearances for Information Only**

None.

#### Registrations For

- Jim Tenuta, Madison Oneida Nation
- Bruno Castelhano, Stevens Point The BR Family
- Heather Houck, Stevens Point The BR Family

- Charles Self, Stevens Point The BR Family
- Megan Coutts, Stevens Point The BR Family
- Cassandra Sorensen, Stevens Point The BR Family
- Cory Koziczkowski, Stevens Point The BR Family
- Benjamin Eisner, Stevens Point The BR Family
- Gary Storck, Madison
- Mickey Beil, Madison Dane County

#### Registrations Against

• None.

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

### May 16, 2007 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Mursau, A. Ott, M. Williams,

Wood, Murtha, Nelson, Garthwaite, Hilgenberg

and Hixson.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative A. Ott, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Assembly Bill 146** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Mursau, A. Ott, M.

Williams, Wood, Murtha, Nelson, Garthwaite, Hilgenberg and Hixson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Andrew Potts Committee Clerk