# **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Veterans, Homeland Security, Military Affairs, Small Business and Government Reform

#### Senate Bill 600

Relating to: payments to local governmental units for natural disasters, granting rule-making authority, and making appropriations.

By Senators Kapanke, Miller, Jauch, Brown, Roessler, Hansen, Risser and Erpenbach; cosponsored by Representatives Nerison, Freese, Hebl, Montgomery, Musser, Hahn, Wood, Ward, McCormick, Gunderson, Davis, Albers, Gronemus, Parisi, Boyle, Van Akkeren, Pocan, Lehman, Berceau, Pope-Roberts, Seidel, Molepske, Toles, Richards, Sheridan, Sinicki, Wasserman, Sherman, Zepnick, Kessler, Black, Cullen, Staskunas, Nelson, Fields, Benedict, Schneider, Travis and Turner.

February 14, 2006 Referred to Committee on Veterans, Homeland Security, Military Affairs, Small Business and Government Reform.

#### February 22, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Brown, Zien, Kanavas, Breske and Wirch.

wirch.

Absent: (0) None.

## Appearances For

- Mark Miller State Senator, 16th State Senate District
- Bob Jauch State Senator, 25th State Senate District
- Lee Nerison State Representative, 96th State Assembly District
- Gary Hebl State Representative, 46th State Assembly District
- Mary Haley, Stoughton
- Ed Minihan, McFarland Town of Dunn

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

# Registrations For

• Dan Kapanke — State Senator, 32nd State Senate District

- Joe Parisi State Representative, 48th State Assembly District
- Matt Stohr, Madison Wisconsin Counties Association

# Registrations Against

• None.

## March 1, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (3) Senators Brown, Breske and Wirch.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Senators Zien\* and Kanavas\*.

## \* - POLLING

Moved by Senator Brown, seconded by Senator Breske that **Senate Bill 600** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senators Brown, Zien, Kanavas, Breske and

Wirch.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Daniel Lindstedt Committee Clerk

L.C. Watelt