Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary, Corrections and Privacy

Senate Bill 526

Relating to: sexual intercourse or sexual contact with a person who is under the influence of alcohol beverages and providing a penalty.

By Senators Stepp, Zien, Lassa, S. Fitzgerald, Roessler, Kedzie, Miller, Brown, Olsen, Kanavas, Lazich, Darling and Risser; cosponsored by Representatives Strachota, Berceau, Kaufert, Turner, McCormick, Nischke, Seidel, Montgomery, Jeskewitz, Ainsworth, Sherman, Loeffelholz, Wasserman, Ballweg, Van Roy, Lothian, Lamb, Parisi, Kreibich, Zepnick, Albers, Petrowski, Owens, Molepske, Ott, Lehman, Bies, Gunderson, Kleefisch and Hubler.

January 26, 2006 Referred to Committee on Judiciary, Corrections and Privacy.

February 1, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Zien, Roessler, Grothman, Taylor and

Risser.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Pat Strachota Representative
- Terese Berceau Representative
- Kelly Anderson, Madison Rape Crisis Center
- Mike Murray, Madison Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault
- Vicki Biehn, Burlington Sexual Assault Services
- Brian Tanner United Council of UW Students
- Zara Dittman UW Parkside Student Government
- Ashok Kumar, Madison
- Dennis Krueger, Dousman
- Cathy Stepp, Madison Senator, 21st Senate District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Austin King, Madison
- Jacqueline Smith, Burlington UW Parkside

- Chris Rosin, Racine UW Parkside
- Linda Mayfield WI Coalition Against Domestic Violence
- Faye Schouten Sgt., UW Whitewater Police Department
- Lisa Macaulay, Madison

Registrations Against

• None.

February 14, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Zien, Roessler, Grothman, Taylor and

Risser.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Roessler, seconded by Senator Zien that **Senate Bill 526** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senators Zien, Roessler, Grothman, Taylor

and Risser.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Brian Deschane Committee Clerk