# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Insurance**

#### Senate Bill 426

Relating to: various changes in the unemployment insurance law, authorized positions for the department of justice, making appropriations, and providing penalties. By Senator Zien.

December 08, 2005 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

December 13, 2005 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (15) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,

Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen,

Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson and

Sheridan.

Absent: (0) None.

# Appearances For

- James Buchen, Madison Wisconsin Manufacurers & Commerce
- Andrew Franken Mr., Wisconsin Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus
- Bill G. Smith, Madison Mr., National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB)
- Brandon Schultz Mr., Wisconsin Grocers Association
- Linda Kleinschmidt Ms., Wisconsin Council on Children & Families
- Ed Lump Mr., Wisconsin Resturant Association
- Doug Johnson Mr., Wisconsin Merchants Federation
- Mike Mikalsen Mr., Representative Steve Nass
- Thomas Smith Mr., Department of Workforce Development

#### Appearances Against

 Peter Isberg — Mr., Association of Unemployment Tax Organizations

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## **Registrations For**

- Janet Swandby Ms., Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Kathi Kilgore Ms., Wisconsin Innkeepers Association
- Daniel LaRocque Mr., Department of Workforce Development

## Registrations Against

• Mark Beihl — Mr., Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters

## December 13, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,
Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick,
Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen,
Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson and
Sheridan.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Montgomery, seconded by Representative Nelson that **Senate Bill 426** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,
Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick,
Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen,
Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson and
Sheridan.

Noes: (0) None.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Adam Peer Committee Clerk