## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Natural Resources and Transportation**

#### Senate Bill 331

Relating to: eliminating the annual adjustment of the motor vehicle fuel tax rate.

By Senators Reynolds, Zien, Grothman, Lazich and Leibham; cosponsored by Representatives Wood, F. Lasee, Gundrum, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Kestell, Lothian, McCormick, Pridemore, Vukmir and Kreibich.

September 14, 2005 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources and Transportation.

### September 29, 2005 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (4) Senators Kedzie, Stepp, Wirch and Breske.

Absent: (1) Senator Kapanke.

### Appearances For

- Tom Reynolds Senator
- Tom Howells Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association

### Appearances Against

- Tom Walker Wisconsin Transportation Builders Association
- Bill Kennedy Rock Road Companies and Wisconsin Transportation Builders Association
- Tom Amon B.R. Amon & Sons
- Craig Thompson Wisconsin Counties Association
- Kevin Hagen American Council of Engineering Companies of Wisconsin
- Phil Scherer American Council of Engineering Companies of Wisconsin

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Innkeepers Association
- Jeff Wood Representative, 67th Assembly District
- Jean Long Manteufel Jerry Long's A-1 Moving

#### Registrations Against

- Peter Beitzec MMAC
- Joe Strohl Operating Engineers, Local 139

- James Peterson J. Peterson Sons, Inc.
- Rick Stadelman Wisconsin Towns Association
- Joe Oswald Wisconsin Laborers' District Council
- Mark Reihl Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters
- Pat Osborne Aggregate Producers of Wisconsin
- Mike Ryan Wisconsin Laborers District Council
- R.J. Pirlot Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Lee Crook, Chippewa Falls
- Dave Stark AFSCME
- Dave Brose, Menomonee Falls
- Kristine Scott, Lake Delton
- John Quillico, Appleton
- Scott Sharp Wisconsin AFSCME Council 40
- Michael Kowal Becher-Hoppe Associates
- Randy Van Natta Becher-Hoppe Associates
- Ernie Stetenfeld, McFarland
- Anthony Baciak, Jr., Milwaukee
- Gene Kussart, Verona
- Sheldon Johnson, Spooner
- Matthew Grove, Sussex
- Patrick Goss Wisconsin Asphalt Pavement Association
- David Botts City of Beloit
- Richard Jones City of Racine
- Ann Schell, Eau Claire
- Matt Hintze HNTB
- Gary Delveaux Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- Terry Mulcahy HNTB
- Van Walling CH2M Hill
- Phil Roberts OMNNI Associates
- David Hoffman, Black River Falls
- Jan Zander, Sussex
- Keith Kosbau, Madison
- Jeff Hanson, Middleton
- Brad Eberhardt, Black River Falls
- Jason Bittner, Madison
- Walt Raith, Neenah
- Kim Lobdell, Fitchburg
- Todd Hertz, Madison
- Mary Ellen O'Brien, Madison
- Les Fafard, East Troy

## November 1, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD - POLLING**

Moved by Senator Kedzie that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (2) Senators Kedzie and Stepp.

Noes: (3) Senators Kapanke, Wirch and Breske.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Kedzie that **Senate Bill 331** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (2) Senators Kedzie and Stepp.

Noes: (3) Senators Kapanke, Wirch and Breske.

PASSAGE, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Dan Johnson Committee Clerk