## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Insurance**

## **Assembly Bill 617**

Relating to: coverage of certain health care costs in cancer clinical trials.

By Representatives Gunderson, Davis, Wasserman, Albers, Ballweg, Benedict, Berceau, Bies, Boyle, Fields, Gronemus, Hahn, Hines, Kaufert, Krawczyk, Kreibich, Kreuser, Lehman, Lothian, Molepske, Montgomery, Musser, Nelson, Ott, Pettis, Sheridan, Steinbrink, Townsend, Turner, Van Akkeren, Van Roy, Vos and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Stepp, Roessler, Brown, Darling, Erpenbach, Hansen, Kanavas, A. Lasee, Lassa, Olsen, Risser, Wirch and Zien.

August 19, 2005 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

### November 3, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,
Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick,
Gielow, Ballweg, Moulton, Lehman,
Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson and Sheridan.

Absent: (2) Representatives Van Roy and Cullen.

## Appearances For

- Scott Gunderson Representative, 83rd Assembly District
- Richard Beres Mr., Leukema & Lymphoma Society
- James Steward, Middleton Mr., UW Health
- Thomas Callahan, Janesville Mr.
- Bonnie Grissom, Racine Ms.
- Vikram Chand Dr., Gunderson Lutheran Cancer Center
- Terese Berceau Representative, 76th Assembly District
- Charles Bennet, Chicago Dr., American Society of Clinical Oncology
- Sue Pelatzke, Madison Ms., UW Health Systems
- Anthony Jaslowski, Green Bay Dr., Green Bay Oncology
- Keith Strong, New London Mr.
- Julie Fries, Hartland Ms., ProHealth
- Paul Westrick, Mequon Mr., Columbia, and St. Mary's Hospital

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Paul Merline, Madison Mr., Wisconsin Association of Health Plans
- Bill G. Smith, Madison Mr., National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB)

#### Registrations For

- Jeremy Levin Mr., Wisconsin Medical Society
- Ruth Bronson, Madison Ms.
- Janet McConville, Verona Ms.
- Mary Baleker, Madison Ms., Wisconsin Cancer Council
- Amy Ellestad, Madison Ms., Wisconsin Cancer Council
- Barbara Nehls-Lowe, Oregon Ms., Leukemai & Lymphoma Society
- Cathy Peters, Pewaukee Ms., American Cancer Society
- Brett Cady, Eau Claire Mr., American Cancer Society
- Charles Koval, Madison Mr., Wiscosnin Multiple Myeloma Support Group
- Linda Robert, Milwaukee Ms., Wisconsin Breast Cancer Coalition
- Kathryn Kahn, Milwaukee Ms., Medical College of Wisconsin
- Robert Phillips, Marshfield Dr., Marshfield Clinic
- Janice Ludlaw, Milwaukee Ms., Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
- Dawn Anderson, Milwaukee Ms., Wisconsin Breast Cancer Coalition
- Barbara Callahan, Janesville Ms.
- Gary Grissom, Racine Mr.
- Corey Callahan, Janesville Mr.
- Mary Ellen Schlough, Madison Ms.
- Ryan Callahan, Janesville Mr.
- Lisa Maroney, Madison Ms., UW Health System
- Jolene Cheslock, Green Bay Ms.
- Nancy Freeman, Oregon Ms.
- Maureen McNally, Milwaukee Ms., Froedtert & Community Health
- Alison Prauge Ms., American Cancer Society
- Laurie Kuiper Ms., Aurora Health Care
- Michelle Mettner Ms., Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
- Patricia Howell, Monona Ms.
- Edna Highland, Kenosha Ms., ACS
- Larry Mitzer, Eau Clair Mr., Volunteer, American Cancer Society

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### November 29, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,

Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen, Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson and

Sheridan.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Gielow, seconded by Representative Montgomery that **Assembly Substitute Amendment LRBs0287** /1 be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,

Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen, Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson and

Sheridan.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRBS0287 /1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gielow, seconded by Representative Montgomery that **Assembly Bill 617** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,

Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen, Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson and

Sheridan.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Adam Peer

Committee Clerk