Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Highway Safety

Assembly Bill 287

Relating to: the minimum number of railroad employees required to be present in the cab of the lead control locomotive when the railroad train or locomotive is in motion.

By Representatives Hahn, Nerison, Pocan, Molepske, Hines, Mursau, Sherman, Musser, Lehman and Albers; cosponsored by Senators A. Lasee, Breske, Hansen and Lassa.

Referred to Committee on Highway Safety.		
PUBLIC HEARING HELD		
Present: (8) Representatives Petrowski, Bies, Ainsworth, Van Roy, Musser, Young, Shilling and Schneider.		
Absent: (0) None.		
 <u>Appearances For</u> Don Garner-Gerhardt — Teamsters Rep. Gene Hahn Tom Dwyer — UTU Michael Cichanowicz — UTU Mike Koziara — Teamsters Micheal Doyle — UTU Anthony Fiori — Teamsters David Fuller — UTU Tim Deneen — UTU James Kinsman — Teamsters Robert LaGeese — UTU Arthur Anderson — UTU Paul Aird — BLE and T Ed Elzy — UTU Mike Reedy — UTU 		

- William Hauck UTU
- Craig Peachy UTU

Appearances Against

- Kevin Soucie Soucie and Assoc
- Paul Nowicki WI Railroad Committee

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jarrod Dolph UTU
- Paul Freund, Fremont
- James Fitzpatrick UTU
- Ken Shaves UTU
- Curt Camps UTU
- Jeff McClinchy UTU
- Steven Kasten UTU
- Jerry Kalbfell UTU
- Wendell Everson UTU
- Cory Everson UTU
- Joanne Ricca AFL CIO
- Jeff Thompson UTU
- Anthony McDimond BIE and T
- Eugene Lund, Fond du lac
- John Potter, Rosendale
- Jeff Miller UTU
- Anthony Macared UTU
- Scott Seggerman UTU
- Sen Roger Breske
- Lance Davis, Oregon
- Peter Kranz UTU
- Joseph Bruckner, Montello
- Anita Bruckner, Montello
- Bruce Przybylski UTU

Registrations Against

- RJ Pirlot WMC
- Amy Boyer WI Economic Development Assn

March 1, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Petrowski, Bies, Ainsworth,
		Van Roy, Musser, Young, Shilling and
		Schneider.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Musser, seconded by Representative Young that **Assembly Bill 287** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (8) Representatives Petrowski, Bies, Ainsworth, Van Roy, Musser, Young, Shilling and Schneider.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Jason Bauknecht Committee Clerk