Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 277

Relating to: general air pollution control permits, the term of registration air pollution control permits, the effect of a challenge to an emission limitation in an air pollution operation permit, and a report on regulatory barriers affecting manufacturing.

By Representatives Hundertmark, Gard, Gunderson, Suder, Jeskewitz, Wieckert, Huebsch, Nischke, Vrakas, Loeffelholz, Wood, Kaufert, Hines, LeMahieu, Hahn, Vos, Strachota, Owens, Moulton, Towns, Mursau, Nerison, McCormick, Honadel, Montgomery, Krawczyk, Kleefisch, Davis, Van Roy, Petrowski, Albers, Pridemore, Meyer, Kreibich, Gielow, J. Fitzgerald, Ott, Lothian and Jensen; cosponsored by Senators Stepp, Schultz, Darling, Leibham, Olsen, Grothman, S. Fitzgerald, Zien and A. Lasee.

Referred to Committee on Natural Resources. March 30, 2005 March 30, 2005 PUBLIC HEARING HELD Present: (15)Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Gronemus, Steinbrink, Van Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl. Absent: None. (0)Appearances For ☐ Rep. Jean Hundertmark, Author — 40th Assembly District ☐ Mary Jo Kopecky — Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources ☐ Jeff Schoepke — Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce ☐ Ed Willusz — Wisconsin Paper Council Appearances Against Anne Sayers — Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters ☐ Melissa Scanlan — Midwest Environmental Advocates Caryl Terrell — Sierra Club Appearances for Information Only □ None. **Registrations For** ☐ Pat Osborne — Aggregate Producers of Wisconsin Registrations Against

☐ Katie Nekola — Clean Wisconsin

	 □ Andrea Kaminski — League of Women Voters □ Jennifer Giegerica — WISPIRG □ Derek Scheer — Clean Wisconsin □ Tom Thoresen — Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters □ Hilary Manske, Madison □ MArk Redsten, Madison □ Lori Grant — River Alliance of Wisconsin □ Emily Miota — Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters □ Kerry Schumann, Madison □ Rev. Sue Larson — Lutheran Office for Public Policy
April 5, 2005	EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD
	Present: (15) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Gronemus, Steinbrink, Van Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.
	Absent: (0) None.
	Moved by Representative Pettis, seconded by Representative Bies that Assembly Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.
	Ayes: (12) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau, Gronemus, Steinbrink and Van Akkeren.
	Noes: (3) Representatives Black, Molepske and Hebl.
	ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 3
	Moved by Representative Gronemus, seconded by Representative Pettis that Assembly Bill 277 be recommended for passage as amended.
	Ayes: (12) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau, Gronemus, Steinbrink
	and Van Akkeren. Noes: (3) Representatives Black, Molepske and Hebl.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 3

Mike Bruhn Committee Clerk