## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Education**

### **Assembly Bill 22**

Relating to: carrying forward a school district's unused revenue limit authority to the succeeding school year.

By Representatives Towns, Underheim, Kestell, Townsend, Hines, Davis, Lehman, Pope-Roberts, Van Akkeren, Petrowski, McCormick, Gottlieb, Ainsworth, Gunderson, Krawczyk, Gronemus, Kerkman, Musser, Hahn, Pettis, Freese, Jeskewitz, Gielow, Sheridan, Albers, Zepnick, Ott, Benedict, Bies, Owens, Wasserman, Van Roy, Nelson, Honadel and Mursau; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Harsdorf, Plale, Roessler, Kanavas, Robson, Miller, Erpenbach, Lassa, Jauch and Brown.

January 20, 2005 Referred to Committee on Education.

March 22, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (11) Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass, Hundertmark, Townsend, Hines, Davis, Lehman, A. Williams, Ziegelbauer and Pope-Roberts.

Absent: (1) Representative Van Akkeren.

#### Appearances For

Boards

- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance
- John Eyster, Edgerton Legislative liason, School District of Janesville
- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Department of Public Instruction

<u>Ap</u>	pearances Against	
	None.	
Appearances for Information Only		
	None.	
	Tione.	
Registrations For		
	Luther Olsen, Berlin — State Senator	
	Ted Kanavas, Madison — State Senator, 33rd Senate District	
	Bob Jauch, Madison — State Senator	
	Sheri Krause, Madison — Wisconsin Association of School	

	<ul> <li>□ Joseph Quick, Madison — Madison Metropolitan School         District</li> <li>□ Wendy Paget, Madison — Wisconsin Council on Children &amp;         Families</li> <li>□ Diane Craney, Madison — WEAC</li> <li>□ Deb Sybell, Hartland — WEAC</li> <li>Registrations Against</li> <li>□ None.</li> </ul>
March 22, 2005	EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD
	Present: (11) Representatives Towns, Kestell, Nass, Hundertmark, Townsend, Hines, Davis, Lehman, A. Williams, Ziegelbauer and Pope- Roberts.
	Absent: (1) Representative Van Akkeren.
	Moved by Representative Towns, seconded by Representative Hundertmark that <b>Assembly Bill 22</b> be recommended for passage.
	Ayes: (9) Representatives Towns, Kestell, Hundertmark, Townsend, Hines, Davis, Lehman, A. Williams and Pope-Roberts.
	Noes: (2) Representatives Nass and Ziegelbauer. Absent: (1) Representative Van Akkeren.
	PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 2
	Casey Langan
	Committee Clerk