Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 20

Relating to: displaying attractions on highway specific information signs.

By Representatives Ainsworth, Hundertmark, Ballweg, Gielow, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Krawczyk, F. Lasee, LeMahieu, Lothian, McCormick, Mursau, Musser, Ott, Petrowski, Pettis, Steinbrink, Stone, Townsend, Vos and Vrakas; cosponsored by Senators Zien, Grothman, Kedzie, A. Lasee, Lassa and Olsen.

January 20, 2005 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

March 3, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Hahn, Suder, Friske, Ott, Lamb, Van Roy, Davis, Steinbrink, Gronemus, Sherman, Vruwink, Molepske and Nelson.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. John Ainsworth Author
- Chet Gerlach Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Chuck Mitchell Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Tom Wilson Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Vernie Smith Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin

Appearances Against

- Janet Swandby Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Brad Yarmark Lamar Advertising
- Mary Teske Hoey Outdoor Advertising
- Paul Wauters Jag Outdoor Advertising
- Keith Carson Collins Outdoor Advertising, Inc.

Appearances for Information Only

David Vieth — WisDOT

Registrations For

• Andy Franken — WI Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus

Registrations Against

- Kurt Weis Lamar Advertising
- Tim Collins Collins Outdoor Advertising
- Louise Kentopf Jag Outdoor Advertising

March 24, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Hahn,

Suder, Ott, Lamb, Van Roy, Davis, Steinbrink, Gronemus, Sherman, Vruwink, Molepske and

Nelson.

Absent: (1) Representative Friske.

Chairperson Ainsworth asked for unanimous consent to introduce **Assembly Amendment LRBa0300/1.**

Unanimous consent was granted.

Moved by Representative Sherman, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Amendment LRBa0300/1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Hahn,

Suder, Ott, Lamb, Van Roy, Davis,

Steinbrink, Gronemus, Sherman, Vruwink,

Molepske and Nelson.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Friske.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA0300/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sherman, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Bill 20** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Hahn,

Suder, Ott, Lamb, Van Roy, Davis, Steinbrink, Gronemus, Sherman, Vruwink,

Steinbrink, Gronemus, Sherman, Vruwink

Molepske and Nelson.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Friske.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Kristina Boardman Committee Clerk