## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Judiciary**

### **Assembly Bill 1021**

Relating to: inadmissibility of a statement of apology or condolence by a health care provider.

By Representatives Gielow, Albers, Bies, Hahn, Krawczyk, Jeskewitz, Shilling, Strachota, Van Roy, Vos and Gundrum; cosponsored by Senators Roessler, Grothman, A. Lasee, Olsen and Reynolds.

February 14, 2006 Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

February 23, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (7) Representatives Gundrum, McCormick,

Pridemore, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Staskunas and

Turner.

Absent: (1) Representative Kessler.

### Appearances For

- Curt Gielow Representative, 23th Assembly District
- Norm Jensen Dr., Wisconsin Medical Society
- Patricia Grillot, Madison

#### Appearances Against

• Paul Sicula — Wisconsin Academy of Trial Lawyers

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Tom Fonfara ThedaCare
- Lisa Maroney UW-Health
- Jodie Tierney Children's Hospital
- Andy Kosseff, Madison Dr., St. Mary's Hospital Medical Center

#### **Registrations Against**

• Lisa Roys — State Bar of Wisconsin - Litigation Section

### February 28, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Gundrum, McCormick,

Pridemore, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Staskunas,

Turner and Kessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Pridemore that **Assembly Bill 1021** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Gundrum, McCormick, Pridemore, Kerkman and Kleefisch.

Noes: (3) Representatives Staskunas, Turner and Kessler.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Jolene Churchill Committee Clerk