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Clearinghouse Rule 05-088

Report to
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse
NR 19.50, Wis. Adm. Code
Natural Resources Board Order No. LE-39-05

Wisconsin Statutory Authority

ss. 29.563(11)(b)1. and 29.591(3), Stats.

Federal Authority

N/A

RUMGET B Ny
NOY SPECIF{ THE

FE=
A

Court Decisions Directly Relevant

None

Analysis of the Rule - Rule Effect - Reason for the Rule

La - Bill requires hunter education instructors: to cha:ge a$10fee for
the : - fee.
Instructors would be allowed to charge students the fee agd keep up to 07 f that
amount to offset their expenses. The remainder of the fee\(at least $5) 158 be

Department.

The Department is required to develop administrative rules before the fee can be implemented at
the same time that the Department’s funding to reimburse instructors for their expenses has been
eliminated. Therefore, the Department will be processing this rule a§ an emergency rule so that
this safety instruction will be continued while the permanent rule is béing processed.

Souy S

Agency Procedures for Promulgation

Public hearings, Natural Resources Board final adoption, followed by I&gislative review.

Description of any Forms (attach copies if available)

None

Name and Telephone Number of Agency Contacts “ ! j LB

Tim Lawhern, Bureau of Law Enforcement — 266-1317 Q 7
Mike Lutz, Bureau of Legal Services — 267-7456
Carol Turner, Bureau of Legal Services - 266-1959

Submitted on September 7, 2005



ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN NATURAL RESOURCES BOARD
AMENDING RULES

The Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend NR 19.50 relating to establishing hunter education fees.

LE-39-05

Analysis Prepared by Department of Natural Resources

Statutory Interpreted and Explanation of Agency Authority: Sections 29.563 (11)(b)1. and 29.591 (3),
Stats., have been interpreted as allowing the department the authority to amend administrative rule to regulate the
student fees for hunter education.

Statutory Authority and Explanation of Agency Authority: Statutes that authorize amending this rule
order include ss. 29.563 (11)(b)1., and 29.591 (3), Stats. These sections grant rule making authority to the
department to amend administrative rule establishing and collecting a student fee for hunter education.

Related Statute or Rule:  This rule order establishes the student fee for hunter education including advanced
and continuing education courses offered through the hunter education program.

Plain Language Analysis: This rule order amends our current code to reflect the department’s requirement to
establish the student fees for hunter education. Once the fee is established, instructors shall charge each student to
take the course. For basic hunter education certification the instructors may keep up to 50% of the amount collected
to offset authorized expenses. Authorized expenses will include items such as ammunition, targets, firearms
cleaning supplies, rental fees for class work and rental fees for shooting ranges. For Advanced or Continuing
Education courses the fees collected will only be the amount necessary to provide the course. There will be no
funds from those programs remitted to the department.

Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or Proposed Federal Regulations: None

- Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States: Comparing adjacent states shows:

Illinois $0.00

Minnesota $10.00

Michigan $0.00 - $10.00 (Instructors are allowed to charge up to $10 to offset expenses.)
lowa $0.00

Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies: The hunter safety education program was
established in 1967. The course fee at that time was set at $3.00 per student. In 1985 hunter education became
mandatory for anyone born on or after January 1%, 1973 and the student fee remained at $3.00. Of this fee
instructors could retain up to 50% (or $1.50) to offset local expenses to provide the course. Legislation was then
passed that removed the course fee. This then required the department to find alternative funds to pay volunteer
instructors for their out-of-pocket cost associated with the classes.

Recent legislation reinstated the fee requirement and required the department to establish an administrative rule for
the student fees for the Hunter Education program. The legislation allows instructors to keep up to 50% of the fee to
offset local expenses and for the department to retain the rest of the funds to be used for hunter education program
costs.

Student numbers have risen along with costs of providing materials and services. Volunteer instructors have asked
for greater assistance in delivering hunter education and we have arrived at a point where we can no longer add

support to the program without additional funding.

The expected generated fees for this program are:



Hunter Education = 30,000 students annually X $5.00 / student = $150,000 annually.

Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine Effect on Small Business or in Preparation
of Economic Impact Report: This rule, and the legislation which grants the department rule making authority,
do not have a significant fiscal effect on the private sector or small businesses. Additionally, no significant costs are
associated with compliance to this rule,

Effects on Small Businesses: This rule is applicable to individuals and imposes no compliance or reporting
requirements for small businesses.

Agency Contact Person: Tim Lawhern, 101 S. Webster St., P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707-7921. (608)
266-1317.

Place Where Comments are to be Submitted and Deadline: Tim Lawhern, WDNR, S. Webster St., P.O.
Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707-7921. email timothy.lawhemn(@dnr.state.wi.us. The deadline for written comments
is October 14, 2005.

SECTION 1. NR 19.50 is amended to read:

NR 19.50 (title) All-terrain vehicle and bowhunter, snowmobile and hunter education
program fee. The fee for the all-terrain vehicle and bowhunter, snowmobile and hunter education
certification programs shall be $10.00. The department may authorize the instructors to retain up to 50%
of the fee to defray authorized expenses incurred locally to operate the program based on the actual cost
incurred to the instructor. The remaining funds shall be turned in to the department to defray expenses
incurred to operate these programs during the year. The fee for advanced or continuing education courses
shall only be the amount necessary, but not to exceed $50. Only instructors certified by the department to
teach advanced or continuing education courses under this section can charge a fee for the advanced or
continuing education courses.

SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule shall take effect the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats.

SECTION 3. BOARD ADOPTION. This rule was approved and adopted by the State of Wisconsin Natural
Resources Board on .

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin

STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

By

Scott Hassett, Secretary

(SEAL)



BEFORE THE
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING
LE-39-05
LE-40-05(E)

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 29.563(11)(b)1. and 29.591(3), Stats., interpreting ss.
29.563(11)(b)1. and 29.591(3), Stats., the Department of Natural Resources will hold a public hearing on the
amendment of s. NR 19.50, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to establishing hunter education fees. Language in the
recent budget bill requires hunter education instructors to charge a fee for the hunter education course and that
the Department promulgate rules to implement this fee. Instructors will be allowed to charge students $10.00
and keep up to'$5 of that amount to offset their expenses. The remainder of the fee is to be returned to the
Department.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the
proposed rule will have an economic impact on small businesses. The Department’s Small Business
Regulatory Coordinator may be contacted at SmallBusinessReg.Coordinator@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling
(608)266-1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the Department has made a preliminary determination that
this action does not involve significant adverse environmental effects and does not need an environmental
analysis under ch. NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code. However, based on the comments received, the Department may
prepare an environmental analysis before proceeding with the proposal. This environmental review document
would summarize the Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 29.563(11)(b)1., 29.591(3) and 227.24,
Stats., interpreting ss. 29.563(11)(b)1. and 29.591(3), Stats., the Department of Natural Resources will hold a
public hearing Natural Resources Board Emergency Order No. LE-40-05(E) relating to establishing hunter
education fees. The emergency rule allows instructors to charge students $10.00 and keep up to $5 of that
amount to offset their expenses. The remainder of the fee is to be returned to the Department.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the hearing will be held on:

Qctober 12, 2005 Room 717, GEF #2, 101 South Webster Street, Madison
Wednesday 8:00 a.m.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request. Please call Tim Lawhern at (608) 266-1317 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of the scheduled hearing.

The proposed rule, emergency rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and comments electronically
submitted at the following Internet site: adminrules.wisconsin.gov. Written comments on the proposed rule may
be submitted via U.S. mail to Mr. Tim Lawhem, Bureau of Law Enforcement, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WiI
53707. Comments may be submitted until October 14, 2005. Written comments whether submitted
electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and effect as oral statements presented at the public
hearings. A personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be obtained from Mr. Lawhern.

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin

STATE OF WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

By

Scott Hassett, Secretary



